• May


  • 50
  • 0
Best Bowling Figures in Indian T20 League History

Best Bowling Figures in Indian T20 League History

Starting with S. Tanvir in the inaugural season of the Indian T20 League, there have been some mind-blowing bowling figures and performances over the last 15 years. 

Best Bowling Figures in the Indian T20 League 2022

S. No.Player NameTeam AgainstBowling Figures
1J. BumrahMumbaiKolkata5/10
2W. HasarangaBangaloreHyderabad5/18
3U. MalikHyderabadGujarat5/25
4Y. ChahalRajasthanKolkata5/40
5A. RussellKolkataGujarat4/5

Top 5 Bowling Figures in Indian T20 League History

Here, we look at the best 5, with a new entry sneaking into the list this season. 

1. A . Joseph – 6 for 12 (Mumbai vs. Hyderabad, April 2019)

This was all the more remarkable because it was Joseph’s first game in the competition, and Mumbai were defending just 137. In his first over, he had D. Warner playing on and in the next, V. Shankar miscued to point. Recalled for the 16th over, Joseph bowled D. Hooda off the inside edge and took a return catch after R. Khan had no clue about a vicious bouncer. B. Kumar was bowled at the start of his final over, and when S. Kaul edged behind, the 22 year old Joseph had the best figures in the tournament’s history. 

2. S. Tanvir – 6 for 14 (Rajasthan vs. Chennai, May 2008)

Tanvir ended up with 130 wickets for Pakistan across formats, but he never looked as good as he did during his only season with Rajasthan. In the first over of this game between two teams that would go on to contest the final, he trapped both P. Patel and S. Fleming, now Chennai coach, leg before. In his next over, V. Sivaramakrishnan edged to S. Warne at the second slip. Warne then took him out of the attack, bringing him back only for the 17th over. The first ball, a slower inswinger, completely deceived A. Morkel. M. Muralidaran and M. Ntini were both bowled as well as Tanvir finished with what were then the best figures in T20s.

3. A. Zampa – 6 for 19 (Pune vs. Hyderabad, May 2016)

With MS. Dhoni saving his overs for the end of the innings, Zampa got his first wicket only in the 16th over, with Yuvraj Singh miscuing a googly to long-off. In the 18th, both K. Williamson and M. Henriques mishit lofted shots off leg-breaks to the fielder at long-off. But yet better was to come in the final over of the innings, with D. Hooda stumped and N. Ojha bowled off his pads. With the final ball, a leg-break, Zampa got No.6 as B. Kumar toe-ended a shot to the man at long-off. Remarkably though, Pune lost the game by 4 runs.

4. A. Kumble – 5 for 5 (Bangalore vs. Rajasthan, April 2009)

P. Kumar and J. Ryder had already broken the back of Rajasthan’s innings as they chased 134 for victory at Newlands – with the Indian T20 League having shifted to South Africa because of the general elections in India. But from the 12th over, it was the Kumble show. Y. Pathan was caught at long-off going for an ugly swipe, and R. Jadeja slog-swept to V. Kohli at deep midwicket. In Kumble’s next over, S. Warne was beaten in flight and stumped, while M. Patel smashed one up in the air for long-on to run in and take. When K. Khan edged behind, Kumble had unbelievable figures of 5 for 5. 

5. J. Bumrah – 5 for 10 (Mumbai vs. Kolkata, May 2022)

Again, the drama started late in the innings, with A. Russell heaving a fast ball to long-on in the 15th over. Three balls later, N. Rana gloved a nasty bouncer behind, even though it needed a review and a third umpire decision. S. Jackson and P. Cummins both fell to outstanding running catches from D. Sams and T. Varma, with both batters miscuing pulls as a result of Bumrah’s pace. A bouncer then accounted for S. Narine, with the leading edge presenting Bumrah, a regular fantasy cricket pick, with a return catch. However, all the heroics still weren’t enough to prevent another crushing defeat of Mumbai. 


Do not wait anymore. Play and win handsome cash rewards this T20 season. Download Howzat Fantasy App now and enjoy the Indian T20 League fantasy cricket experience.

© Copyright 2019 Howzat by Junglee Games