Best captain in IPL history

MS Dhoni is arguably the best captain in IPL history. Dhoni has the highest winning percentage (more than 50 matches) among all the captains (59.37%) and led the Chennai team to most IPL finals (10), and most titles (5).

Rohit Sharma has also won the most titles as captain (5) and enjoys the second-highest winning rate. Gujarat’s ex-skipper Hardik Pandya has put his name in this discussion with the constant success he got with the franchise. Pandya will captain the Mumbai Indians in the 2024 season.

Most Successful Captains in IPL History (2008-2024)

The Indian T20 League is the world's most popular T20 cricket league. Since its inception in 2008, the league has seen many great captains who have led their teams to glory. Here is a list of the top 10 most successful captains in IPL history.

PlayerTeams CaptainedMatches as CaptainWonLostTiedWin %Trophies Won
MS DhoniChennai, Pune22613391059.375
Rohit SharmaMumbai1588767456.325
Virat KohliBangalore1436670348.560
Gautam GambhirDelhi, Kolkata1297157155.422
David WarnerDelhi, Hyderabad834041249.391
Adam GilchristDeccan, Punjab743539047.291
Shreyas IyerDelhi, Kolkata703829254.281
KL RahulPunjab, Lucknow643131248.430
Sanju SamsonRajasthan613129150.810
Shane WarneRajasthan553024155.451
Hardik PandyaGujarat452619057.771
Rishabh PantDelhi432319153.480

1) MS Dhoni (Chennai, Pune) - Win Rate 59.37%

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is regarded by many as the best captain in IPL history. He has led Chennai to record 5 titles and 5 runner-up finishes. Dhoni is known for his clever tactics, cool and calm attitude, and excellent leadership skills, and he gets the best out of his players. MS Dhoni started Chennai captaincy in the 2008 edition. He was also captain of the now-defunct Pune team in 2016 and 2017, when Chennai was suspended.

Also read: Highest Partnerships in IPL

2) Rohit Sharma (Mumbai) - Win Rate 56.32%

Another name that comes up in every discussion about the top captains is Rohit Sharma. Rohit has led Mumbai Indians to 5 titles, making him the joint most successful captain in IPL history when it comes to trophies won. He is known for his excellent decision-making skills and ability to lead by example in high-pressure situations. Rohit led Mumbai from 2013 to 2023 and captained more than 150 matches in the Indian Premier League.

3) Gautam Gambhir (Delhi, Kolkata) - Win Rate 55.42%

Gautam Gambhir is the only captain other than Dhoni and Rohit to captain a team to more than one title in the league. Gambhir moved from Delhi to replace Ganguly as the new Kolkata captain (2011-2017) and proved his leadership skills. He captained 129 matches with 71 wins and won the trophy in 2012 and 2014 with Kolkata. He also led the Delhi Team for some time. 

Also read: Lowest Score in IPL

4) Shreyas Iyer (Delhi, Kolkata) - Win Rate 54.28%

Shreyas Iyer is the only captain to take two different teams to the IPL final. Iyer captained Delhi to the 2020 final (losing to Mumbai) and Kolkata to final in 2024. Shreyas captained 70 matches with 38 wins and won the trophy in 2024 with Kolkata. He led the Delhi Team for from 2018 to 2021 before moving to Kolkata. 

5) David Warner (Delhi, Hyderabad) - Win Rate 49.39%

Only three overseas captains - Shane Warne, Adam Gilchrist, and David Warner - have lifted the Indian T20 League title in the last 15 years. Each of them has a unique leadership style and has been successful in his own right. Warner is the most successful overseas batter in the league, with close to 6400 runs in 176 matches. He captained Hyderabad and Delhi in 83 games, won 40 of them, and won the title in 2016 with the Orange Army.

Also read: Highest Individual Score in IPL History

Team Captains in IPL 2024

Out of 10 captains in IPL 2024, 5 are returning captains and 3 are new. Rishabh Pant (DC) and Shreyas Iyer (KKR) missed the last year tournament due to injuries.

Chennai Super KingsRuturaj Gaikwad (new)Stephen Fleming
Mumbai IndiansHardik Pandya (new)Mark Boucher
Royal Challengers BengaluruFaf du PlessisAndy Flower
Delhi CapitalsRishabh Pant (missed last year due to injury)Ricky Ponting
Sunrisers HyderabadPat Cummins (new)Daniel Vettori
Punjab KingsShikhar DhawanTrevor Bayliss
Kolkata Knight RidersShreyas Iyer (missed last year due to injury)Chandrakant Pandit
Rajasthan RoyalsSanju SamsonKumar Sangakkara
Lucknow Super GiantsKL RahulJustin Langer
Gujarat TitansShubhman Gill (new)Ashish Nehra

To conclude, it is difficult to say who the number one Indian T20 League captain is. Each of the captains mentioned above has achieved great success and contributed to the growth and popularity of the IPL. They are all great leaders who know how to inspire their teams to perform to the best of their potential. Cricket fans often have different opinions about the best captain, which usually comes down to personal preferences.


Which captain has been most successful in the IPL?

Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni are the most successful captains in the IPL. Rohit has won 5 titles (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020) with Mumbai and Dhoni has won 5 titles (2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023) with Chennai.

Who is the best captain in IPL history?

In terms of most success, MS Dhoni is the best captain in IPL history. He has captained 226 matches and won 133 matches (59.37%). Dhoni has also won 5 titles with Chennai. Dhoni captained Chennai from 2008 to 2023.

Who is the most successful overseas IPL captain ?

Australia's David Warner is the most successful overseas captain in the IPL. He captained Sunrisers Hyderabad and Delhi Capitals in a total of 83 matches and won 40. Warner won the title with SRH in 2016.   

Who is the captain of Bangalore in IPL 2024?

South Africa’s Faf du Plessis is the captain of Bangalore in IPL 2024. He took over the captaincy from Kohli before the 2022 season. He has captained 27 matches so far and won 14.

Who is the captain of Chennai in IPL 2024?

India's Ruturaj Gaikwad is the captain of Chennai in IPL 2024. He took over the captaincy from legendary captain MS Dhoni just one day before the 2024 season. He has captained India in the Asian Games 2023.

Which team is number 1 in the IPL?

Chennai is the number 1 team in the IPL. They beat Gujarat, captained by Hardik Pandya, in IPL 2023 final by 5 wickets to win their 5th title.


Junglee Games India Private Limited ("Junglee") is neither associated with, affiliated to, nor has any connection, whatsoever, with any third-party sporting event and leagues. Unless engaged by way of proper Agreement for endorsement etc., Junglee also disclaims any association, affiliation, or connection, whatsoever, with the Teams or Players, who are participating in the said third-party Sporting events or Leagues.

Win cash worth ₹3000* as Welcome Bonus