IPL Team Owners 2024 List

The IPL isn't just a cricketing festival; it's a multi-billion-dollar business empire of passionate ownership groups. These individuals, industry, and media giants, play a crucial role in shaping their franchises' identities and driving their success. In IPL 2024, a fascinating mix of familiar faces dominates the ownership scenario in IPL. 

Let's check the stories of these team owners, exploring their business empires, their vision for their respective teams, and their impact on the IPL ecosystem.

IPL Team Owners 2024 List

IPL TeamTeam OwnerOwner Business
Chennai Super Kings (CSK)N. SrinivasanChennai Super Kings India Limited & India Cements Limited
Mumbai Indians (MI)Mukesh AmbaniReliance Industries
Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)United Spirits-
Delhi Capitals (DC)Parth JindalGMR Group & JSW Sports
Gujarat Titans (GT)CVC Capital Partners-
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla and Jay MehtaRed Chillies Entertainment & Mehta Group
Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)Sanjiv GoenkaRPSG Group
Punjab Kings (PBKS)Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman and Karan Paul-
Rajasthan Royals (RR)Manoj BadaleRoyals Sports Group (Emerging Media Sporting Holdings Limited)
Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)Kalanithi MaranSun TV Group

2024 IPL Franchise Complete Ownership Breakdown

CSK Team Owner - N. Srinivasan

N. Srinivasan, the former president of the BCCI, is the team owner of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK). Under his ownership, CSK has established itself as one of the most successful IPL franchises, with five IPL titles. Srinivasan's cricket administration experience and association with India Cements have played a vital role in CSK's consistent performance.

MI Team Owner - Reliance Industries

Mumbai Indians (MI) team owned by Reliance Industries, one of India's largest corporations, led by the powerful Ambani family. Mukesh Ambani is the owner of MI but her wife, Nita Ambani, a passionate cricket fan, and her son Akash Ambani, actively manage the franchise. Their vast resources and commitment to excellence have made MI the joint-most successful IPL team, with a record five IPL titles.

RCB Team Owner - United Spirits

Team RCB owned is by United Spirits Limited It is one of the most famous and followed IPL franchises. Vijay Mallya, the previous chairman of Kingfisher Airlines and United Spirits, initially purchased the team. Currently, Kingfisher Airlines does not exist and the sole owner of the RCB team is United Spirits. RCB finished as runner-up three times in the IPL.

Also read: IPL 2024 Captains List: Team Skippers and Coaches

DC Team Owner - GMR Group & JSW Sports

The Delhi Capitals (DC) are co-owned by two of India's leading industrial giants - the GMR Group and the JSW Sports. The GMR Group, known for its expertise in infrastructure and aviation, brings financial muscle and a global vision to the franchise. JSW Group, a steel and energy conglomerate, adds its business acumen and commitment to fostering young talent.

GT Team Owner - CVC Capital Partners

The 2023 champions, Gujarat Titans (GT), are owned by CVC Capital Partners, a global private equity and investment advisory firm. CVC joined the IPL scene in 2022 and brings a fresh perspective and a focus on data-driven decision-making to franchise ownership. CVC's expertise in sports investments has allowed them to build a strong core team through strategic player acquisitions and GT's unexpected victory in 2023.

Also read: Impact Player Rule in IPL 2024

KKR Team Owners - Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla and Jay Mehta

The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) ownership is a fascinating mix of Bollywood and business. Red Chillies Entertainment, co-owned by superstar Shah Rukh Khan and actress Juhi Chawla, brings star power and a strong brand identity to the franchise. The Mehta Group, led by Jay Mehta, provides financial stability and business expertise. This unique partnership allows KKR to leverage both celebrity appeal and business sense.

LSG Team Owner - Sanjiv Goenka

The Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) are owned by Sanjiv Goenka, the chairman of the RPG Group, a diversified conglomerate with interests in energy, IT, and FMCG sectors. Goenka's entry into the IPL signifies his ambition to establish LSG as a major player in the league.

Impact on LSG: Goenka's financial backing has allowed LSG to build a strong team through strategic player auctions and franchise acquisitions. The RPSG Group previously owned the Rising Pune Supergiant franchise in IPL from 2016 to 2017.

PBKS Team Owner - Preity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman and Karan Paul

Punjab Kings (earlier known as Kings XI Punjab) is owned by actress Preity Zinta, businessman Ness Wadia, and industrialists Mohit Burman and Karan Paul. Punjab Kings have been one of the underperforming teams throughout the IPL history, with just two playoffs appearances and one final appearance in 16 seasons.

RR Owner - Manoj Badale

Rajasthan Royals is owned by businessman Manoj Badale-led Royals Sports Group (Emerging Media Sporting Holdings Limited), which holds a 65% stake in the team. The team is based out of Jaipur and won the very first season in 2008. Interestingly, Rajasthan Royals is cheapest of all the eight teams bought in IPL 2008.

Also read: Which Team Is the Most Successful Team in IPL?

SRH Team Owner - Kalanithi Maran

Sunrisers Hyderabad is owned by the Sun TV Network, a media conglomerate led by Kalanithi Maran. He bought the team after the Hyderabad-based team, Deccan Chargers, were terminated by the IPL before the 2013 season. Her daughter, Kaviya Kalanithi Maran, is seen at most of the matches of the Sunrisers Hyderabad, both home and away. The group also owns the Sunrisers Eastern Cape in SA20.

The IPL team owners are not just financial backers but strategic leaders, brand builders, and passionate individuals who shape the future of their franchises. Their vision, resources, and commitment to excellence play a crucial role in defining the competitive landscape of the IPL.


Who is the RCB owner?

United Spirits Limited owns Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB).

Who is the owner of CSK team 2024?

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is owned by Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited, a company co-founded by N Srinivasan and India Cements Ltd.

Who is the richest IPL owner?

Mukesh Ambani, owner of Mumbai Indians, is considered one of the wealthiest individuals in India.


Junglee Games India Private Limited ("Junglee") is neither associated with, affiliated to, nor has any connection, whatsoever, with any third-party sporting event and leagues. Unless engaged by way of proper Agreement for endorsement etc., Junglee also disclaims any association, affiliation, or connection, whatsoever, with the Teams or Players, who are participating in the said third-party Sporting events or Leagues.

Win cash worth ₹3000* as Welcome Bonus