Most Runs in Indian T20 League History

Most Runs in IPL History

IPL is arguably the best and most challenging franchise T20 league since its inception in 2008. Over the years, the best players in the world, like Kohli, Gayle, AB de Villiers, and Warner, have scored plenty of runs in the league and left their mark on history. So, who are the top players with the most runs in IPL history?

Top 10 Highest Run Scorer in IPL

Here is the list of all-time top 10 run-getters in the history of the Indian T20 Premier League.

PlayerTeamMatchesRunsHighest ScoreBatting AverageStrike Rate50s100s
Virat KohliBangalore223662411336.20129.15445
Shikhar DhawanPunjab2066244106*35.08126.35472
David WarnerDelhi162588112642.01140.69544
Rohit SharmaMumbai2275879109*30.30129.89401
Suresh RainaChennai2055528100*32.52136.76391
AB de VilliersBangalore1845162133*39.70151.68403
MS DhoniChennai234497884*39.20135.20240
Chris GaylePunjab1424965175*39.72148.96316
Robin UthappaChennai20549528827.51130.35270
Dinesh KarthikBangalore229437697*26.85132.65190

1) Virat Kohli (Bangalore): 6624 runs

Virat Kohli currently holds the record for scoring the most runs in the IPL. Virat Kohli tops the table with 6624 runs in 223 matches, including 5 centuries and 44 fifties at an average of 36.20 and a strike rate of 129.15. Virat has hit 578 fours and 218 sixes during his IPL career. His best season came in 2016 when he made 973 runs in a single season with 4 hundred. 

2) Shikhar Dhawan (Delhi): 6244 runs 

Shikhar Dhawan is second on the list of most runs scored in IPL. He has been a consistent run-getter over the past seven years, crossing the 400-run mark each season from 2016 to 2022. Currently, Dhawan has 6244 runs in 206 games, including 2 hundred and 47 half-centuries, with the help of 701 fours and 16 sixes. His best season came in 2020 when he made 618 runs with 2 hundred and 4 fifties. 

3) David Warner (Delhi): 5881 runs 

The former captain of Hyderabad, David Warner, is the top run-getter among the overseas players and third-most overall. He has made 5881 runs in 162 matches at an average of 42.01 and a strike rate of 140.69. He has scored 4 centuries and 54 half-centuries in the league so far. The majority of his runs have come while playing for the Hyderabad team. His best season came in 2016 when he made 848 runs with 9 fifties.

4) Rohit Sharma (Mumbai): 5879 runs

Rohit Sharma is arguably one of the most dangerous hitters in the T20 format. He has led Team Mumbai, the most successful franchise of the Indian T20 League, to five titles so far. Rohit began his IPL career with Deccan in 2008 before joining Mumbai in 2011. In 227 matches played, Rohit has scored 5879 runs at an average of 30.30, with 1 hundred and 40 fifties. He is the 3rd highest six-hitter in IPL with 240 sixes. 

5) Suresh Raina (Chennai): 5528 runs 

Suresh Raina, also known as Mr. IPL, has played a significant role in Team Chennai’s success in the league. His consistent run-making year after year led Chennai to 4 titles and 5 runner-up titles. In 205 matches, Raina has scored 5528 runs at a fantastic strike rate of 136.76, with 1 hundred and 39 fifties. Raina retired from international cricket in 2020 and from IPL in 2022. Besides his runs, Raina can provide breakthroughs with the ball and his brilliant fielding.  


Who has scored the most runs in the IPL tournament?

Virat Kohli is the most run scorer in IPL, with 6624 runs in 223 matches at a strike rate of 129.15. He has scored 44 fifties and 5 centuries with the help of 578 fours and 218 sixes.

Who has hit most sixes in IPL?

Chris Gayle has hit the most number of sixes (357) in IPL history. He has played 142 matches and scored 4965 runs at a strike rate of 148.96 which included 6 centuries and 31 half-centuries. AB de Villiers is second best with 251 sixes.

Who is the highest overseas scorer in Indian T20 Premier League?

Among the overseas players, Australia's David Warner is the highest run scorer in the Indian T20 League with 5881 runs in 162 matches at a strike rate of 140.69. He has hit 4 hundreds and 54 fifties.


Junglee Games India Private Limited ("Junglee") is neither associated with nor is affiliated to nor has any connection, whatsoever, with any third-party sporting event and leagues. Unless engaged by way of proper Agreement for endorsement etc., Junglee also disclaims any association, affiliation, or connection, whatsoever, with the Teams or Players, who are participating in the said third-party Sporting event or Leagues.

Win cash worth ₹3000* as Welcome Bonus