Orange Cap Winners

Orange Cap in IPL 2023 & All Previous Winners From 2008 - 2023

The Orange Cap is presented to the leading run scorer in the IPL. The batter with the most runs during a particular season wears the Orange Cap while fielding. David Warner won the cap three times, followed by Chris Gayle, who won it twice. Virat Kohli scored the most runs (973) in a single tournament edition (2016).

Orange Cap in IPL 2023: Updated List

Gujarat's Shubman Gill won the Orange Cap in IPL 2023. Gill has made 890 runs in 17 matches at a strike rate of 158.08. He scored 3 centuries and 4 half-centuries.

1Shubman GillGujarat890 runs
2Faf du PlessisBangalore730 runs
3Devon ConwayChennai672 runs
4Virat KohliBangalore639 runs
5Yashasvi JaiswalRajasthan625 runs

*  Updated after Chennai vs Gujarat Final Match

List of All Previous IPL Orange Cap Winners

The Orange Cap has been the most prestigious award for any batter in the Indian T20 League. Since the inauguration of the league and the award in 2008, only a handful of players have had the privilege to take home the Orange Cap. 

Let’s look at all the players who have won the IPL Orange Cap from 2008 to 2023.

2023Shubman GillGujarat1789012959.33157.8043
2022Jos ButtlerRajasthan1786311657.53149.0544
2021Ruturaj GaikwadChennai16635101*45.35136.2641
2020KL RahulPunjab14670132*55.83129.3451
2019David WarnerHyderabad1269210069.2143.8781
2018Kane WilliamsonHyderabad177358452.5142.4480
2017David WarnerHyderabad1464112658.27141.8141
2016Virat KohliBangalore1697311381.08152.0374
2015David WarnerHyderabad145629143.23156.5470
2014Robin UthappaKolkata166608344137.7850
2013Michael HusseyChennai167339552.35129.560
2012Chris GayleBangalore1573312861.08160.7471
2011Chris GayleBangalore1260810767.55183.1332
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai156188947.53132.6150
2009Matthew Hayden Chennai125728952144.8150
2008Shaun MarshPunjab1161611568.44139.6851

Shubman Gill (Gujarat): 2023 Orange Cap Winner

Runs: 890, Matches: 17, Average: 59.33, Strike Rate: 157.80, 100s: 3, 50s: 4

Shubman Gill was the major factor in Gujarat reaching the final for the second consecutive year. Gill scored a massive 890 runs at an outstanding strike rate of 157.80. He scored 3 centuries and 4 half centuries. He is the third batter to cross the 800-run mark in one season after Virat Kohli in 2016 and Jos Buttler in 2022. In terms of runs scored in one season, he is only second behind Virat Kolhi' 973 runs.

Also read: IPL Purple Cap Winners From 2008 to 2023

Jos Buttler (Rajasthan): 2022 Orange Cap Winner

Runs: 863, Matches: 17, Average: 57.53, Strike Rate: 149.05, 100s: 4, 50s: 4

Jos Buttler was instrumental in Rajasthan reaching the final for the first time since 2008. Buttler scored a whopping 863 runs at a fantastic strike rate of 149.05. He scored 4 centuries and 4 half centuries. He is the second batter to cross the 800-run mark in one season after Virat Kohli, who achieved this feat in 2016.

Ruturaj Gaikwad (Chennai): 2021 Orange Cap Winner

Runs: 635; Matches: 16; Average: 45.35, Strike Rate: 136.26, 100s: 1, 50s: 4 

Ruturaj Gaikwad was the first uncapped Indian player to win the Orange Cap in the Indian T20 League. Playing for Team Chennai, Gaikwad surprised everyone with his consistent batting performance throughout the season. He made 635 runs in 16 matches at a strike rate of 136.26.

KL Rahul (Punjab): 2020 Orange Cap Winner

Runs: 670; Matches: 14; Average: 55.83, Strike Rate: 129.34, 100s: 1, 50s: 5

KL Rahul had a tremendous season with the bat for Punjab. His team ended up 6th in the points table, but the skipper tried his best at the top of the order. Rahul smashed 670 runs at an average of 55.83, including 5 fifties and 1 century.

Also read: Highest Individual Score in IPL History

David Warner (Hyderabad): 2019 Winner

Runs: 692; Matches: 12; Average: 69.2, Strike Rate: 143.86, 100s: 1, 50s: 8

David Warner made a fantastic comeback in 2019 (after missing the 2018 season due to suspension) and became the first player to win the Orange Cap 3 times in IPL history. Before 2019, Warner won the Orange cap with Team Hyderabad in the 2015 and 2017 editions. 

Also read: Longest Sixes in IPL From 2008-2023


Who won the Orange Cap in IPL 2023?

Shubman Gill won the Orange Cap in IPL 2023, scoring 890 runs in 17 matches with a strike rate of 158.08. He made 3 hundreds and 4 fifties.

Who won the Orange Cap in IPL 2022?

Jos Buttler won the orange cap in IPL 2022, he scored an impressive 863 runs in 17 matches at a brilliant strike rate of 149.05, which included 4 centuries and 3 fifties.

What is orange cap in IPL 2023?

The "Orange Cap" in the IPL refers to an honorary award given to the leading run-scorer in the tournament.

Who has won the Orange Cap most time in IPL?

Australia's opening batter David Warner has won the Orange Cap most times (3) in IPL. Warner won the Orange Cap titles in 2015 (562 runs), 2017 (641 runs), and 2019 (692 runs), playing for Team Hyderabad.

What is the prize money for Orange Cap IPL 2023?

The winning prize money for the Orange Cap in IPL is ₹10 Lakhs.


Junglee Games India Private Limited ("Junglee") is neither associated with, affiliated to, nor has any connection, whatsoever, with any third-party sporting event and leagues. Unless engaged by way of proper Agreement for endorsement etc., Junglee also disclaims any association, affiliation, or connection, whatsoever, with the Teams or Players, who are participating in the said third-party Sporting events or Leagues.

Win cash worth ₹3000* as Welcome Bonus