Purple Cap Winners in IPL

The Purple Cap is presented to the leading wicket-taker in the IPL. The bowler with the most wickets during the season wears the Purple Cap while fielding. The Purple Cap has been the most prestigious award for any bowler in the IPL. Since the inauguration of the league and the award in 2008, only 14 players have had the privilege to take home the Purple Cap at the end of the season.

Latest Standing of IPL 2024 Purple Cap Holder

Purple Cap IPL 2024: With 24 wickets in 14 matches, PBKS' Harshal Patel is the holder of Purple Cap in IPL 2024. KKR's Varun Chakravarthy finished second with 21 wickets. MI's Jasprit Bumrah is 3rd with 20 wickets. SRH's T Natarajan is fourth with 19 wickets and KKR's Harshit Rana is 5th with 19 wickets.

Check the updated IPL 2024 Purple Cap standings, then jump to the IPL points table for the full tournament picture.

RankPlayerWicketsMatchesBest FiguresAverage3W4W/5W
1Harshal Patel24143/1519.8740
2Varun Chakravarthy21153/1619.1430
3Jasprit Bumrah20135/2116.8031
4T Natarajan19144/1924.4711
5Harshit Rana19133/2420.1510
6Avesh Khan19163/2727.6830
7Arshdeep Singh19144/2926.5701
8Andre Russell19153/1915.5210
9Pat Cummins18163/4331.4410
10Yuzvendra Chahal18143/1128.4410

* Purple Cap standing after KKR vs SRH Final

2024 Purple Cap Winner - Harshal Patel (Punjab Kings)

Harshal Patel became the first bowler to win the Purple Cap in the Indian T20 League with two different teams. He took 24 wickets in 14 matches at an average of 19.87, but failed to take Punjab into the playoffs in 2024 IPL. His best figures of 3 for 15 came against Gujarat in Mullanpur. Harshal joins the list of multiple Purple Cap winners, with Dwayne Bravo and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

2023 Purple Cap Winner - Mohammed Shami (Gujarat Titans)

Mohammed Shami became the first bowler from Gujarat to win the Purple Cap in IPL. He took 28 wickets at an average of 18.64, and played a big part in Gujarat reaching back-to-back finals. Shami broke the record of taking the most number of wickets (17) in the Powerplay overs in a single season.

2022 Purple Cap Winner - Yuzvendra Chahal (Rajasthan Royals)

Yuzvendra Chahal became only the third spinner to win the Purple Cap after Ohja and Tahir in IPL. He also became the second bowler from Rajasthan to win after Sohail Tanvir in the 2008 season. He took 27 wickets at an average of 19.71, and played a big part in Rajasthan’s run till the final.

2021 Purple Cap Winner - Harshal Patel (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Harshal Patel became the first bowler from the Bangalore team to win the Purple Cap in the Indian T20 League. He took a record high 32 wickets in 15 matches at an average of 14.34, and played a big part in Bangalore’s finishing 4th in the league. His best figures of 5 for 27 came against Mumbai.

Also read: Best Bowling Figures in IPL

Previous IPL Purple Cap Winners List

Let's take a look at the IPL Purple cap winners list for each season from 2008.

YearPlayerTeamWicketsMatchesBest FiguresAvg.ECO4W5W
2024Harshal PatelPBKS24143/1519.879.7340
2023Mohammed ShamiGT28174/1118.648.0320
2022Yuzvendra ChahalRR27175/4019.717.7511
2021Harshal PatelRCB32155/2714.348.1411
2020Kagiso RabadaDC30174/2418.268.3420
2019Imran TahirCSK26174/1216.576.6920
2018Andrew TyePBKS24145/1718.668.0030
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH26145/1914.197.0501
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH23174/2921.307.4210
2015Dwayne BravoCSK26173/2216.388.1400
2014Mohit SharmaCSK23164/1419.658.3910
2013Dwayne BravoCSK32184/4215.537.9510
2012Morne MorkelDC25164/2018.127.1910
2011Lasith MalingaMI28165/1313.395.9501
2010Pragyan PhjaDeccan21163/2620.427.2900
2009RP SinghDeccan23164/2218.136.9810
2008Sohail TanvirRR22116/1412.096.4611

Also read: IPL Orange Cap Winners From 2008 to 2024


Who won the purple cap in IPL 2024?

Punjab Kings' Harshal Patel won the IPL 2024 Purple Cap with 24 wickets in 14 matches. Harshal has taken four 3-wicket hauls and had the best figures of 3/15. 

Who has won the Purple Cap most times in IPL?

Dwayne Bravo, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Harshal Patel have won the Purple Cap the most times (2). Bravo won the Purple Cap titles in 2013 and 2015, Bhuvneshwar won it in 2016 and 2017, and Harshal won in 2021 and 2024.

What is the prize money for Purple Cap IPL?

The winning prize for winning the Purple Cap in IPL 2024 is ₹10 Lakhs.

Which team has won the IPL Purple Cap most times?

Chennai have won the IPL Purple Cap most times (4). Rajasthan, Deccan, Hyderabad, Delhi and Punjab are tied with 2 times each. Mumbai, Bangalore and Gujarat have won it once.

Who picked the most wickets in a single IPL season?

Dwayne Bravo (in 2013) and Harshal Patel (in 2021) each took a season high of 32 wickets in one IPL season. The next best is Kagiso Rabada, who picked up 30 wickets in 2020.


Junglee Games India Private Limited ("Junglee") is neither associated with, affiliated to, nor has any connection, whatsoever, with any third-party sporting event and leagues. Unless engaged by way of proper Agreement for endorsement etc., Junglee also disclaims any association, affiliation, or connection, whatsoever, with the Teams or Players, who are participating in the said third-party Sporting events or Leagues.

Win cash worth ₹3000* as Welcome Bonus