Who is the Fastest Bowler in World?

Who is the Fastest Bowler in Cricket World? Shoaib Akhtar to Mayank Yadav

Bowling fast is a skill, and to be effective at that speed takes talent and a lot of practice. Pace bowlers, also known as speed guns or pace spearheads, bring more excitement in the sport with their outrageous pace and accuracy. A fast bowler in red-hot form is definitely a sight to behold on a cricket field.

Love watching the quality pacers bowling with express speed on the cricket field? Feel the thrill with your own fantasy cricket team on the Howzat Fantasy Cricket App.

Top 10 World's Fastest Bowlers in Cricket History

Former Pakistani right-arm fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar "Rawalpindi Express" is widely regarded as the all-time fastest bowler in cricket history. He bowled the fastest ball ever recorded in international cricket at a speed of 161.3 km/h (100.2 mph) against England in the 2003 Cricket World Cup. 

Over the years, the likes of Waqar Younis, Brett Lee, Allan Donald, and Shaun Tait have taken the batters by surprise with speed and accuracy throughout their career. Australia’s Mitchell Starc, New Zealand’s Lockie Ferguson, South Africa’s Kagiso Rabada, and England’s Jofra Archer are few of the fast bowlers who trouble the batter with express speed in world cricket at the moment.

All-time Fastest Deliveries in Cricket History (International)



Ball Speed




1Shoaib Akhtar161.3 km/hr (100.2 mph)PakistanEngland2003
2Shaun Tait161.1 km/hr (100.1 mph)AustraliaEngland2010
3Brett Lee161.1 km/hr (100.1 mph)AustraliaNew Zealand2005
4Jeffrey Thomson160.6 km/hr (99.8 mph)AustraliaWest Indies1975
5Mitchell Starc160.4 km/hr (99.7 mph)AustraliaNew Zealand2015
6Andy Roberts159.5 km/hr (99.1 mph)West IndiesAustralia1975
7Fidel Edwards157.7 km/hr (97.9 mph)West IndiesSouth Africa2003
8Mitchell Johnson156.8 km/hr (97.4 mph)AustraliaEngland2013
9Mohd. Sami156.4 km/hr (97.1 mph)PakistanZimbabwe2003
10Shane Bond156.4 km/hr (97.1 mph)New ZealandIndia2003

Also read: Updated List Of Purple Cap Holders in IPL 2024

Fastest Bowlers in India

Hyderabad’s fast bowler Umran Malik has been in the spotlight of the cricket world by becoming the fastest bowler in India. In the Indian T20 League 2022 season, Umran constantly bowled at over 150kph throughout the season. Umran Malik has taken over the title of the fastest bowler in India during the 2022 season of the Indian T20 League. He bowled at an average speed of around 150km/hr, with many deliveries crossing the 150 mark. 

The likes of Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, and Mohammed Siraj have shown plenty of control and accuracy with the ball in hand. Indian fastest bowlers can now go against the quickest bowlers from Australia, South Africa, England and New Zealand.

List of Fastest Indian Bowlers of All-time



Fastest Ball Delivery

1Umran Malik157 km/hr2022
2Mayank Yadav156.7 km/hr2024
3Irfan Pathan153.7 km/hr2007
4Mohammed Shami153.3 km/hr2014
5Jasprit Bumrah153.26 km/hr2018

Fastest Ball in IPL 2024

LSG's speedster Mayank Yadav delivered the fastest ball in IPL 2024. Bought for just 20 Lakhs by Lucknow in the auction, Mayank made his debut against and registered figures of 3/27. He bowled with pace and accuracy and was awarded the Player of the Match for his match-turning spell. He bowled at an average speed of around 148km/hr, with many deliveries crossing the 150 mark.


What was the speed of Shoaib Akhtar’s fastest ball?

Shoaib Akhtar’s fastest delivery came at a speed of 161.3km/hr against England during the 2003 Cricket World Cup. He is also considered as the fastest bowler in the history of cricket.

What is the fastest ball in cricket history?

Shoaib Akhtar bowled the fastest ball in cricket history at 161.3 kmph (100.2 mph) during a 2003 World Cup match against England in Durban, South Africa. 

Who is the fastest bowler in India?

Mayank Yadav is currently the fastest Indian bowler to consistently deliver high speeds, clocking an impressive 156.7 kmph during an IPL match in 2024. However, Umran Malik holds the record for the fastest ball ever bowled by an Indian bowler, reaching a scorching 157 kmph.

Who is the No. 1 bowler in history?

Currently, Jasprit Bumrah (India) holds the No. 1 ranking in all three cricket formats (Test, ODI, T20) according to the ICC rankings.

Win cash worth ₹3000* as Welcome Bonus