Post image

India Announces 15-man Squad for the T20 World Cup 2021

On Wednesday, India named their 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, which will start from 17th October onward and will take place in Oman and the UAE. Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin makes a return to the white-ball squad and MS Dhoni will be the team mentor for the tournament.

"As far as Dhoni is concerned, he was okay with the decision and agreed to be a mentor for Team India, only for the T20 World Cup. I spoke to Virat and Rohit as well as Ravi Shastri (the head coach), and that’s how we reached this decision," said BCCI Secretary Jay Shah.

The Men in Blue will begin the campaign in the Super 12 round with a marquee clash against Pakistan on 24th October in Dubai, before meeting New Zealand at the same venue a week later. Afghanistan and two other Round-1 teams are also in the group.

Play fantasy cricket on Howzat

Virat Kohli is set to lead the team and Rohit Sharma will be the vice captain. The likes of Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Rahul Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy and Axar Patel have made it to the final squad. Interestingly, there is no place for Shikhar Dhawan, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Kuldeep Yadav in the 15-man squad. 

With the UAE pitches expected to grip and provide plenty of turn, the squad has five spin options in Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy. Apart from Jadeja, Hardik Pandya is the second all-rounder, but it remains to be seen how fit he is to bowl during the World Cup. The pace department consists of three frontline seamers, including Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami.

Middle-order batter Shreyas Iyer, pacers Shardul Thakur and Deepak Chahar have been named as traveling reserves.

India Squad

  • Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ishan Kishan (WK), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami
  • Traveling Reserves: Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar

Howzat will be hosting all the matches from the upcoming 2021 T20 World Cup. You can get access to the latest match predictions and trending cricket news on the Howzat blog. Download the app now, make your fantasy league team & start winning every day!

Play fantasy cricket on Howzat