Ballon d'Or Winners

Ballon d'Or 2023 Winners, Nominees and Everything You Need to Know

The Ballon d'Or which means "Golden Ball" in French, is one of the most sought-after awards in the world of football. It is an annual football award presented to the best male footballer in the world and is considered one of the most prestigious individual awards in football. This was the 67th Ballon d'Or award presentation. The Ballon d'Or 2023 ceremony took place on Monday, October 30, in Paris, France from 11:30 PM IST and Lionel Messi won the 2023 Ballon d'Or.

History of the Ballon d'Or

The Ballon d'Or was first awarded in 1956 by the French Football magazine ‘France Football’ and was originally open to European players only. The award was later expanded in 1995 to include players from all over the world. In 2010, the Ballon d'Or merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year award to create the FIFA Ballon d'Or. However, the two awards were separated again in 2016, and the Ballon d'Or returned to being awarded solely. FIFA reverted to its own separate annual award ‘The Best FIFA Men's Player.’

Impact of Ballon d'Or

The Ballon d'Or is not just an individual accolade; it represents the pinnacle of footballing excellence. Ballon d'Or winners often leave a lasting mark on their respective clubs and national teams. They become icons, inspiring generations of aspiring footballers to follow in their footsteps and reach for greatness. It also sparks debates among fans and pundits, with discussions about who truly is the best player in the world.

Ballon d'Or 2023

The 2023 Ballon d'Or 2023 award will be presented to the best player based on their performance in the football season from August 1, 2022, to July 31, 2023. Earlier, it was given to the football player who excelled throughout a calendar year. 

Apart from the Ballon d'Or award, several other awards will be presented at the ceremony. The Ballon d'Or Feminin (winner - Aitana Bonmati) is given to the best female footballer, the Kopa Trophy (winner - Jude Bellingham) is handed over to the best male player under 21, the Yashin Trophy (winner - Emiliano Martinez) is given to the best men’s goalkeeper, and the Gerd Müller Trophy (winner - Erling Haaland) is awarded to the highest-scoring striker of the season.

30 players were nominated for this year's Ballon d'Or, and Lionel Messi won a record-extending eighth Ballon d'Or. Messi has scored 42 goals (26 assists) and led Argentina to their 3rd World Cup win in Qatar in December, 2022. Erling Haaland was second, with 52 goals in a treble-winning season for Manchester City.

Previous Ballon d'Or Winner List: From Ronaldo to Messi

Over the years, many great footballers have won the Ballon d'Or. The award has been dominated over the last 15 years by Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, who have won it 12 times between them. Here are some of the most recent and notable winners of the Ballon d'Or trophy:

2023Lionel MessiArgentinaInter Miami
2022Karim BenzemaFranceReal Madrid
2021Lionel MessiArgentinaPSG
2020Not awarded due to COVID-19 pandemic
2019Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2018Luka ModricCroatiaReal Madrid
2017Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2016Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2015Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2014Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2013Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2012Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2011Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2010Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2009Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2008Cristiano RonaldoPortugalManchester United
2007KakaBrazilAC Milan

Also read: Who is the Best Football Player in the World

Most Ballon d'Or Winners

Argentina’s Lionel Messi has won a record eight Ballon d'Or trophies, while Cristiano Ronaldo has won the trophy five times. No other player has won the trophy more than three times.

PlayerWinsSecond Place
Lionel Messi8 times (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021, 2023)5 times (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017)
Cristiano Ronaldo5 times (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017)6 times (2007, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2018)
Michel Platini3 times (1983, 1984, 1985)-
Johan Cruyff3 times (1971, 1973, 1974)-
Marco van Basten3 times (1988, 1989, 1992)-
Franz Beckenbauer2 times (1972, 1976)2 times (1974, 1975)
Ronaldo2 times (1997, 2002)1 (1996)
Alfredo Di Stéfano2 times (1957, 1959)1 (1996)

Lionel Messi: The Argentine forward has won the Ballon d'Or a record eight times, including four consecutive wins from 2009 to 2012. Messi is widely regarded as one of the greatest footballers of all time and has won numerous other individual awards throughout his career.

Cristiano Ronaldo: The Portuguese forward has won the Ballon d'Or five times, including four wins from 2013 to 2017. Ronaldo is also considered one of the greatest footballers of all time and has won numerous other individual awards throughout his career.

Michel Platini: The French midfielder won the Ballon d'Or three times in a row from 1983 to 1985. Platini was a key player for the French national team and also had a successful club career with Juventus.

Johan Cruyff: The Dutch forward won the Ballon d'Or three times in a row from 1971 to 1973. Cruyff was a key player for both Ajax and Barcelona and is widely regarded as one of the greatest footballers of all time.

Alfredo Di Stefano: The Argentine forward won the Ballon d'Or twice in 1957 and 1959. Di Stefano was a key player for Real Madrid during their dominant period in the 1950s and 1960s.

The Ballon d'Or is a prestigious individual award in football, and many great players have won it over the years. As football continues to evolve, we can expect to see more great players win this prestigious award in the future.


Who won the Ballon d'Or 2023?

Lionel won the Ballon d'Or 2023 award. He scored 42 goals combined for club and country and won the 2022 FIFA World Cup trophy for Argentina. 

Where to watch the Ballon d'Or 2023 live in India?

Watch Live telecast and streaming of the Ballon d'Or 2023 ceremony will be available on the Sony TEN 2 channel and SonyLIV app in India. 

Who are the nominees for Ballon d'Or 2023?

André Onana, Josko Gvardiol, Karim Benzema, Jamal Musiala, Mohammed Salah, Jude Bellingham, Bukayo Saka, Kolo Muani, Kevin De Bruyne, Bernardo Silva, Emiliano Martínez, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Rúben Dias, Lautaro Martínez, Antoine Griezmann, Robert Lewandowski, Kylian Mbappé, Kim Min-jae, Victor Osimhen, Luka Modric, Harry Kane, Nicolo Barella, Erling Haaland, Yassine Bounou, Martin Ødegaard, Julián Álvarez, Ilkay Gündogan, Vinícius Júnior, Lionel Messi, Rodri.

Who has more Ballon d'Or wins - Messi or Ronaldo?

Messi has won 8 Ballon d'Or awards and Ronaldo has won 5 Ballon d'Or trophies.

Win cash worth ₹3000* as Welcome Bonus