• January


  • 271
  • 0
ICC Announced Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Fixtures

ICC Announced Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 Fixtures

The 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be the 8th ICC Men’s T20 World Cup tournament, with all the matches taking place in Australia. The last T20 World Cup was held in UAE and Oman with Australia defeating rivals New Zealand in the final.

The tournament is scheduled to begin on 16th October 2021, with the tournament’s final to be played on 13th November 2022. A total of 16 teams will play the tournament, with 12 of them directly qualifying for the Super 12 stages. Australia, Afghanistan, England, and New Zealand are together in Group 1, while India, South Africa, Pakistan, and Bangladesh are in Group 2. The other 4 teams – Sri Lanka, West Indies, Namibia, and Scotland are placed in the First Round.

The first round matches of the tournament are will be played in Hobart and Geelong, with other 5 venues – Sydney, Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide, and Brisbane hosting matches from the Super 12 stage onward.

First Round

Based on the 2021 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Results and the ICC T20 Rankings of 15 November 2021, the first round consists of 8 teams divided into two groups. The remaining four places will come from each of the two Global Qualifiers. The Global Qualifiers will have a total of sixteen teams; the bottom four teams from the 2021 T20 World Cup (Ireland, Netherlands, Oman, and Papua New Guinea), the next four highest-ranked T20I teams (Zimbabwe, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, and Singapore), and the eight teams that progressed from the Regional Finals.

The tournament will begin with a Group A match between hosts Sri Lanka and Namibia in Geelong at 3 PM local time on 16th October, with the other teams (to be decided) in Group A meeting for an evening match at 7 PM.

Group B, which includes West Indies, Scotland, and 2 qualifiers will be in action in Hobart the next day, with the matches running until 21st October. The top two teams in each group will proceed to the Super 12 stage of the tournament, beginning on 22nd October.

2022 T20 World Cup First Round Match Schedule

Sr. No.MatchGroupDateTime (IST)Location
1Sri Lanka vs. NamibiaGroup ASunday, 16th October9:30AMGeelong
2UAE vs. Q3Group ASunday, 16th October1:30PMGeelong
3West Indies vs. ScotlandGroup BMonday, 17th October9:30AMHobart
4Ireland vs. Q4Group BMonday, 17th October1:30PMHobart
5Namibia vs. Q3Group ATuesday, 18th October9:30AMGeelong
6Sri Lanka vs. UAE Group ATuesday, 18th October1:30PMGeelong
7Scotland vs. Q4Group BWednesday, 19th October9:30AMHobart
8West Indies vs. Ireland Group BWednesday, 19th October1:30PMHobart
9Sri Lanka vs. Q3Group AThursday, 20th October9:30AMGeelong
10Namibia vs. UAE Group AThursday, 20th October1:30PMGeelong
11West Indies vs. Q4Group BFriday, 21st October9:30AMHobart
12Scotland vs. Ireland Group BFriday, 21st October1:30PMHobart

Super 12

The second round of the tournament, which is the Super 12 stage, consists of 12 teams. This includes the top 8 teams in the ICC T20 Rankings of November 2021 and the 4 qualifiers from the first round.

Play fantasy cricket on Howzat

The second round will start in Sydney on 22nd October, with a Group 1 blockbuster match between Australia and New Zealand. This will be followed up with a clash between England and Afghanistan in Perth on the same evening. Old rivals England and Australia will meet in Melbourne on 28th October. The Group 1 matches will conclude on 5th November, with the match between England and South Africa at Sydney.

Group 2 matches will begin with arch rivals India and Pakistan clashing in Melbourne on 23rd October evening. South Africa and Bangladesh will start their tournament on 24th October at Hobart, taking on the first round qualifiers. The Group B matches will conclude with a triple-header on 6th November. India take on the first-placed first round qualifier from Group B in the last match.

2022 T20 World Cup Super 12 Match Schedule

Sr. No.MatchGroupDateTimeLocation
1Australia vs. New ZealandGroup 1Saturday, 22nd October12:30 PMSydney
2England vs. AfghanistanGroup 1Saturday, 22nd October4:30 PMPerth
3A1 vs. B2Group 1Sunday, 23rd October9:30 AMHobart
4India vs. PakistanGroup 2Sunday, 23rd October1:30 PMMelbourne
5Bangladesh vs. A2Group 2Monday, 24th October9:30 AMHobart
6South Africa vs. B1 Group 2Monday, 24th October1:30 PMHobart
7Australia vs. A1Group 1Tuesday, 25th October4:30 PMPerth
8England vs. B2Group 1Wednesday, 26th October9:30 AMMelbourne
9New Zealand vs AfghanistanGroup 1Wednesday, 26th October1:30 PMMelbourne
10South Africa vs. BangladeshGroup 2Thursday, 27th October8:30 AMSydney
11India vs. A2Group 2Thursday, 27th October12:30 PMSydney
12Pakistan vs. B1Group 2Thursday, 27th October4:30 PMPerth
13Afghanistan vs. B2Group 1Friday, 28th October9:30 AMMelbourne
14England vs. AustraliaGroup 1Friday, 28th October1:30 PMMelbourne
15New Zealand vs. A1Group 1Saturday, 29th October1:30 PMSydney
16Bangladesh vs. B1Group 2Sunday, 30th October8:30 AMBrisbane
17Pakistan vs. A2Group 2Sunday, 30th October12:30 PMPerth
18India vs. South Africa Group 2Sunday, 30th October4:30 PMPerth
19Australia vs. B2Group 1Monday, 31st October1:30 PMBrisbane
20Afghanistan vs. A1Group 1Tuesday, 1st November9:30 AMBrisbane
21England vs. New ZealandGroup 1Tuesday, 1st November1:30 PMBrisbane
22B1 vs. A2Group 2Wednesday, 2nd November9:30 AMAdelaide
23India vs. BangladeshGroup 2Wednesday, 2nd November1:30 PMAdelaide
24Pakistan vs. South AfricaGroup 2Thursday, 3rd November1:30 PMSydney
25New Zealand vs. B2Group 1Friday, 4th November9:30 AMAdelaide
26Australia vs. AfghanistanGroup 1Friday, 4th November1:30 PMAdelaide
27England vs. South AfricaGroup 1Saturday, 5th November1:30 PMSydney
28South Africa vs A2Group 2Sunday, 6th November5:30 AMAdelaide
29Pakistan vs. BangladeshGroup 2Sunday, 6th November9:30 AMAdelaide
30India vs. B1 Group 2Sunday, 6th November1:30 PMMelbourne


The first semifinal will be held in Sydney on 9th November, while the second semifinal will be hosted by Adelaide on 10th November.

The Final

The final of the tournament will take place in Melbourne on 13th November evening.

Sr. No.MatchDateTimeLocation
1Semifinal 1 (G1 W vs. G2 RU)Wednesday, 9th November1:30 PMSydney
2Semifinal 2 (G2 W vs. G1 RU)Thursday, 10th November1:30 PMAdelaide
3Final (SF1 W vs. SF2 W)Sunday, 13th November1:30 PMMelbourne
Play fantasy cricket on Howzat

Howzat, the fantasy cricket platform, is hosting all the international and franchise league T20 matches on its fantasy app. You can get access to the latest cricket match predictions and trending cricket news on the Howzat blog. Download the cricket fantasy app now, make your dream team & start winning every day!

© Copyright 2019 Howzat by Junglee Games