• October


  • 74
  • 0
List of Indian T20 League Orange Cap Winners

List of Indian T20 League Orange Cap Winners

The Orange Cap has been the most prestigious award to receive for any batter in the Indian T20 League. Since the inauguration of the league and the award in 2008, only a few have had the privilege to take home the Orange Cap after the tournament. 

Let’s take a look at all the players who have won the Orange Cap over the years. Selecting these players to be part of your fantasy teams can help you fetch points while playing in the fantasy premier league and give you a chance to win whopping big prizes!

1) Shaun Marsh (Punjab) – 2008

Shaun Marsh went on to be the trendsetter in the inaugural edition of the Indian T20 League. Marsh scored massive 616 runs with an amazing average of 68.44 for Team Punjab.

Matches: 11; Runs: 616; Average: 68.44, Strike-rate: 139.68, 50s: 5, 100s: 1

2) Matthew Hayden (Chennai) – 2009

The Australian opener Matthew Hayden surprised everyone by showcasing a solid performance for Chennai just after announcing retirement from international cricket in 2009. Unfortunately, his magnificent form couldn’t get his team into the play-offs but he did manage to grab the Orange Cap at the end of the season, scoring 572 runs with a staggering strike rate of 144.81 in just 12 matches. 

Matches: 12; Runs: 572; Average: 52, Strike-rate: 144.81, 50s: 5

3) Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai) – 2010

The Master-blaster became the first Indian to secure the Orange Cap. Sachin Tendulkar had a brilliant season with the bat for Team Mumbai and compiled 618 runs in the 2010  season. Sachin, being the captain of the side, also led his team to the final but ended up as runners-up after losing to Chennai.

Matches: 15; Runs: 618; Average: 47.53, Strike Rate: 132.61, 50s: 5

4) Chris Gayle (Bangalore) – 2011

The Universe Boss ruled the Orange Cap for two consecutive years and literally no one could stop him. Chris Gayle went on to score 608 runs in the 4th edition of the league for his Bangalore side. His strike rate of 183 sets him apart from all the Orange Cap holders so far.

Matches: 12; Runs: 608; Average: 67.55, Strike Rate: 183.13, 50s: 3, 100s: 2

5) Chris Gayle (Bangalore) – 2012

Then came the 2012 season where the West Indian went on to continue his prolific form of batting and smashed 733 runs at an average of 61.08, breaking his own record of 608 runs. Gayle is the only player till date to win Orange Cap for two consecutive years in the history of the tournament.

Matches: 15; Runs: 733; Average: 61.08, Strike Rate: 160.74, 100s: 1, 50s: 7

6) Michael Hussey (Chennai) – 2013

In the 2013 season, Michael Hussey’s contribution in taking Team Chennai to the final was massive. In the process, the Australian batter registered 733 runs at an average of over 50 but failed to help his team secure the title, which went Team Mumbai’s way.

Matches: 17; Runs: 733; Average: 52.35, Strike Rate: 129.5, 50s: 6

Play fantasy cricket on Howzat

7) Robin Uthappa (Kolkata) – 2014

Team Kolkata turned out to be the dark horse of the Indian T20 League in 2012 and 2014 when they went on to win the title, with Gautam Gambhir as their skipper. But along with that, Robin Uthappa had a major impact in that title run of 2014. Smashing 660 runs with 5 fifties in the bag, he very well justified his role as an opener. 

Matches: 16; Runs: 660; Average: 44, Strike Rate: 137.78, 50s: 5

8) David Warner (Hyderabad) – 2015

In the 2015 season for Team Hyderabad, David Warner tried his best to lead his team from the front as skipper, but couldn’t help his team qualify for the play-offs. But in that process, he made a personal record of scoring the most runs in that season by hitting 562 runs at a mind-boggling strike rate of 156.54.

Matches: 14; Runs: 562; Average: 43.23, Strike Rate: 156.54, 50s: 7

9) Virat Kohli (Bangalore) – 2016

Having set many other records, Virat Kohli managed to bag the Orange Cap too by scoring a humongous 973 runs in just one season at a mind-boggling average of 81.08. King Kohli literally struck gold in that season as he smashed 4 hundreds and 7 half centuries. However, Bangalore failed to take the winning trophy home. 

Matches: 16; Runs: 973; Average: 81.08, Strike Rate: 152.03, 100s: 4, 50s: 7

10) David Warner (Hyderabad) – 2017

After Virat Kohli’s mind-blowing season with 973 runs, David Warner’s 641 runs in the 2017 edition seemed like a normal score. But despite Warner’s magic, Hyderabad lost the play-off battle against Kolkata in 2017.

Matches: 14; Runs: 641; Average: 58.27, Strike Rate: 141.81, 100s: 1, 50s: 4

11) Kane Williamson (Hyderabad) – 2018

The 2018 edition of the league was the most suitable opportunity for Kane Williamson to prove his mettle, especially when Hyderabad didn’t have David Warner. Not only did captain Kane lead his team to the final but also won the Orange Cap for his brilliant individual performance.

Matches: 17; Runs: 735; Average: 52.5, Strike Rate: 142.44, 50s: 8

12) David Warner (Hyderabad) – 2019

David Warner made a fantastic comeback in 2019 and became the first player to win the Orange Cap 3 times in league history. Before 2019, the Australian masterclass won the cap in the 2015 and 2017 editions. 

Matches: 12; Runs: 692; Average: 69.2, Strike Rate: 143.86, 100s: 1, 50s: 8

13) KL Rahul (Punjab) – 2020

KL Rahul had a tremendous season with the bat but not as a captain. His team might have ended up in 6th position in the points table, but the skipper tried his best by smashing 670 runs by himself, eventually making him the top run scorer in the 2020 edition. 

Matches: 14; Runs: 670; Average: 55.83, Strike Rate: 129.34, 100s: 1, 50s: 5


Shikhar Dhawan was leading the race for the Orange Cap this season before it came to a halt midway. But with the second leg of the season having resumed and with KL Rahul leading and Gaikwad and Dhawan right behind in the scoring charts, there will be a close competition of who takes the cap home this time. 

Play fantasy cricket on Howzat

You too can be a part of all the cricketing action right in the comfort of your home by playing on Howzat. Just go for a fantasy app download on your mobile phone and create your fantasy teams to take home whopping big cash prizes! Happy gaming!

© Copyright 2019 Howzat by Junglee Games