Post image


Hyderabad and Punjab go into the final league game of this Indian T20 League season with plenty of regrets. Results earlier in the week ensured that neither could make the play-offs, and the winner will have to be content with 6th place. Both though will look back at the key moments when they weren’t quite good enough. 

Hyderabad won 5 of their first 7 matches, but a run of 5 straight defeats set them back. A bowling attack that thrived on pitches with pace and bounce struggled on slower surfaces, especially once W. Sundar, their frontline spinner, missed several matches due to injury. The dismal batting form of K. Williamson, the captain, didn’t help, while A. Markram also went off the boil after an excellent start to the season. 

Punjab Team had plenty of excellent individual displays to savor, not least from L. Livingstone and K. Rabada, but could never find the consistency to win even back-to-back matches. J. Bairstow found his form too late, and the back-up for Rabada and R. Chahar wasn’t quite good enough. S. Dhawan has been the leading run scorer but at a pedestrian strike rate, and O. Smith was far too expensive with the ball to be persisted with.

Hyderabad will take great heart though from the performances of U. Malik, whose pace has excited fans and pundits alike. There may not be a play-off spot on the line, but he and Rabada will have a mini contest of their own to see which pace bowler ends the season with most wickets. After C-grade seasons, that would be some consolation for either side.

Match Details

  • Match: Hyderabad vs. Punjab, Match 70
  • Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
  • Date & Time: May 22, 2022, at 7:30 PM IST

Hyderabad vs. Punjab Match 70 Probable Playing XIs 

Team Hyderabad

A. Sharma, P. Garg, R. Tripathi, A. Markram, N. Pooran (WK), W. Sundar, R. Shepherd, F. Farooqi, B. Kumar (C), J. Suchith, U. Malik 

Full Hyderabad Team Squad

Team Punjab

J. Bairstow, S. Dhawan, S. Khan, L. Livingstone, M. Agarwal (C), J. Sharma (WK), P. Mankad, H. Brar, K. Rabada, N. Ellis, A. Singh

Full Punjab Team Squad

Punjab vs Hyderabad HEAD-TO-HEAD RECORD

Matches Hyderabad WinsPunjab WinsTie/NR
Overall 1360
Indian T20 League1360
Last 5 Matches320

Weather Report

This is a late evening start, and given that summer has truly set in, the teams can expect a temperature of around 32°C when play begins.

Pitch Report For Hyderabad vs. Punjab Match

The usually batting-friendly Wankhede pitches have not been easy to predict this season. Teams have chased down 190 or more twice, and the lowest total defended has been 165. 


Chasing teams have won 12 of the 20 matches played here, including the last 3 games.

TOP FANTASY PICKS For Hyderabad vs. Punjab Match

Team Hyderabad

  • R. Tripathi has scored the bulk of the top-order runs, with K. Williamson in such miserable form. His 393 runs for the season have come at an exceptional strike rate of 161.72.   
  • N. Pooran had a nightmare of a season in 2021, but has restored his reputation this campaign, with 301 runs, most of them scored late in the innings. The strike rate of 149 has been excellent as well.
  • U. Malik bowled the fastest ball of the tournament (157 km/hr), and has blasted out 21 batters at an economy rate of 8.93. Despite going through a sticky patch in early May, only K. Rabada has taken more wickets among pace bowlers. 

Team Punjab

  • J. Bairstow has been in his usual attacking mode at the top of the order and fairly successful too. He has made only one single-digit score in his last 5 innings. Bairstow has scored 230 runs in 10 matches, 173 of which have in the last 4 matches, at a strike rate of 143.75 including 2 half-centuries.
  • L. Livingstone has definitely left his imprint on this season’s competition, with 388 runs at an outstanding strike rate of 177.98. He has taken 6 wickets too, though his impact with the ball was far less than the team would have hoped for. 
  • K. Rabada could finish the season as the pace bowler with most wickets, though there will be no repeat of 2020’s Purple Cap. His 22 wickets from 12 games have come at an economy rate of 8.36.

Hyderabad vs. Punjab Match HOWZAT DREAM TEAM

  • Wicketkeepers: J. Bairstow, N. Pooran
  • Batters: R. Tripathi, S. Dhawan, P. Garg
  • All-rounders: A. Markram, L. Livingstone
  • Bowlers: B. Kumar, K. Rabada, U. Malik, A. Singh
  • Captain: R. Tripathi/L. Livingstone
  • Vice Captain: K. Rabada/U. Malik
Indian T20 League 2022, Match 70: HYD vs PUN – HOWZAT Dream Team

NOTE: The Howzat dream team above is just a suggestion. You can select your own team from today’s fantasy match prediction and play all the fantasy cricket matches of the Indian T20 League 2022. Also, don’t forget to make any necessary changes to your team once the actual playing 11 is announced by each team (30 minutes before the start of the match) as some players you have selected might not be part of the team playing.

Download the favorite fantasy cricket app and select your own team, Howzat!