• November


  • 1150
  • 0


For the first time in 13 years, Delhi are making their appearance in the final of the Indian T20 league. They will face defending champions Mumbai at the Dubai International Stadium on Tuesday evening.

For Mumbai, it is their sixth time in the final. They have won four titles: 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019. They have been the team to beat in this year’s tournament, with nine wins in fourteen games. Despite R Sharma not clicking, the likes of I Kishan, S Yadav, and Q de Kock have scored consistently. Also, K Pollard and H Pandya can do some serious damage in the final phase of the innings, which the latter showed in Qualifier 1 against the same opposition.

The bowling attack has been excellent so far. The duo of J Bumrah and T Boult have accounted for 49 wickets this season, with the likes of R Chahar and K Pandya being economical and picking up wickets in the middle overs as well.

Their opponents, Delhi, have also done well this season, with 16 points and a second-place finish. They have a good mix of youth and experience and are playing their first final. S Dhawan and newly promoted M Stoinis were in good touch in their previous game, while the duo of Shaw and Pant have had a disappointing season so far.

The pace bowling duo of A Nortje and K Rabada have been outstanding in the season so far and have taken 49 wickets between them. The team tried out a new batting order for the game against Hyderabad and were successful. They will repeat the same in this game as well.

Delhi won’t be too keen to look back at the fixtures between these two sides earlier this season. Mumbai have the psychological edge as they beat Delhi on all three occasions. The winning margins were pretty comprehensive: 5 wickets, 9 wickets, and 57 runs.

With the two best teams in the competition going head-to-head, we should witness a cracking end to the Indian T20 league 2020.

Play fantasy cricket on Howzat

Match Details

  • Match: Mumbai vs. Delhi, Final
  • Venue: Dubai International Stadium, Dubai
  • Date & Time: Nov. 10, 2020 at 7.30 PM IST

Probable Playing XI

Team Mumbai

R Sharma (C), Q De Kock (wk), S Yadav, I Kishan, H Pandya, K Pollard, K Pandya, T Boult, J Pattinson, R Chahar, J Bumrah

Team Delhi

S Dhawan, M Stoinis, A Rahane, S Iyer (C), R Pant (wk), S Hetmyer, A Patel, R Ashwin, P Dubey, K Rabada, A Nortje 

Pitch Report

The Dubai International Cricket Stadium has been a relatively high-scoring venue in the league. Although there is some swing on offer for the pacers, the batsmen have done well to get scores of over 170 consistently. 

The spinners will have to vary their pace in the middle overs. Teams have preferred to keep wickets in hand and attack in the last five overs. This strategy has paid off well in the last few games.

Rotation of strike will be key for the batsmen. With dew not having much effect in the second innings, the team batting first will have a slight advantage. Given that it is the final of the tournament, a score of 170-180 can be a competitive one.

Key Players

  • I Kishan is having a breakthrough season this year. With 483 runs in the group stage, he is the joint-highest run scorer for Mumbai. Also, he has scores of 55* and 72* in the last two games against Delhi.
  • S Yadav has scored 462 runs this season and has been in good form against Delhi. Two of his four fifties in this season were against them.
  • J Bumrah has picked up 27 wickets in the season at an economy of only 6.71. Against Delhi, he picked up 7 wickets for 31 runs in the last two games between the two teams.
  • S Dhawan has crossed the 600-run mark for this season, which includes 2 centuries and 4 fifties. With his runs coming at the top of the order, he is the most important batsman in Delhi’s batting order.
  • M Stoinis has flourished in his new role with a quick-fire 38 runs and 3 wickets with the ball. Against Mumbai, he was the lone warrior, scoring 65 runs and picking up one wicket.
  • K Rabada is back at the top of the Purple Cap list with his second four-for against Hyderabad. But he has picked up only 2 wickets against Mumbai in three games. He will be looking for one final push to take his team to the first league title.

Howzat Dream Team

  • Wicketkeepers: Q De Kock, I Kishan
  • Batsmen: S Yadav, S Dhawan, S Hetmyer
  • All-rounders: M Stoinis, K Pollard, A Patel
  • Bowlers: J Bumrah, J Pattinson, K Rabada
  • Captain: Q de Kock/M Stoinis
  • Vice Captain: J Bumrah/K Rabada
Howzat Dream Team Mumbai vs Delhi

NOTE: The Howzat dream team above is just a suggestion. You can select your own fantasy cricket team, and play fantasy cricket matches. Also, don’t forget to make any necessary changes to your team once the actual playing 11 is announced by each team (30 minutes before the start of the match) as some players you have selected might not be part of the team suggested.

Get fantasy cricket tips on your best fantasy app and select your own team, Howzat!

© Copyright 2019 Howzat by Junglee Games