• October


  • 69
  • 0
T20 World Cup Winners Over the Years

T20 World Cup Winners Over the Years

Cricket is a popular sport in many countries and almost a religion in India. The emergence of the T20 format of the game has taken the entertainment factor to another level. The large cricketing audience always looks forward to the T20 World Cup. With the tournament set to begin soon, the excitement all around is palpable. 

Initially, the T20 World Cup was set to be held in 2020 in India. However, due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the tournament was postponed to 2021 and moved to the UAE and Oman. Just like the Indian fantasy league, you can also play fantasy games based on the T20 World Cup on Howzat, the most trusted fantasy cricket app, endorsed by the likes of Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina. 

With the T20 World Cup fever gripping the nation, let’s take a look at the winners of all the previous editions of the tournament.

1) India: 2007 Champions 

The Men in Blue were the first-ever to win the T20 World Cup. Playing under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, India were considered underdogs going into the tournament. Amassing victories against heavy-weight teams like England, South Africa, Australia, and defeating Pakistan in a nerve-wracking final, India emerged victorious. The tournament also included a tied match between India and Pakistan that involved the first ever bowl out, which India won. The Men in Blue only lost one match in the entire tournament, against New Zealand, in the round of Super 8s. The tournament will also be remembered for Yuvraj Singh’s 6 sixes in an over in the match against England.

2) Pakistan: 2009 Champions

After losing narrowly to India in the 2007 T20 World Cup final, Pakistan emerged as winners in the second edition of the T20 World Cup in 2009, which was held in England. Despite starting off their campaign with a loss to the hosts England, Pakistan were pretty much the dominant team in the entire tournament, losing just one game against Sri Lanka in the Super 8s. They defeated South Africa in the semi-finals and eventually defeated the Sri Lankans in the final, where Shahid Afridi put up a Man of the Match performance.

Play fantasy cricket on Howzat

3) England: 2010 Champions 

The third edition of the T20 World Cup was held in 2010, hosted by the West Indies. This tournament was one of the most followed tournaments due to the strength of every team. In the end, England won the tournament quite comfortably. England lost their first match against the hosts West Indies, after which they cruised through every match and defeated South Africa, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and the defending champions Pakistan. In the final, England beat their Ashes rivals Australia by a comfortable margin to take home their first-ever T20 World Cup. 

4) West Indies: 2012 Champions

The 2012 West Indian team included some of the biggest power hitters to have ever graced the game. They faced a few hiccups on their way to the Super 8s, after which they showed their might and strength, defeating England, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and Australia. The final was held between the West Indies and Sri Lanka, who were playing in their second T20 World Cup final. After being 14/2 in 6 overs, Marlon Samuels played one of the best innings in T20I history and helped the West Indies win their first-ever T20 World Cup.

5) Sri Lanka: 2014 Champions

After losing two T20 World Cup finals, Sri Lanka finally won their first-ever T20 World Cup in 2014, defeating the favorites of the tournament and 2007 champions, India. The islanders lost just one match in the entire tournament, against England, in the group stage. After strong performances in the group stage and the Super 8s, they faced the West Indies in the semi-finals, whom they defeated convincingly, setting up an exciting finale against India. The Men in Blue, expected to win the final, struggled, putting up just 130 on the scoreboard in 20 overs. The target didn’t prove difficult and Sri Lanka chased down the score with 6 wickets in hand.

6) West Indies: 2016 Champions

The 2016 T20 World Cup final will always be remembered for the Carlos Brathwaite show. The West Indies once again showed their dominance in the shortest format of the game as they were crowned the T20 World Cup champions in 2016. They defeated the likes of England, Sri Lanka, and South Africa before meeting India in the semi-finals. Despite a mammoth score of 192 put up by India, the West Indies quite comfortably chased down the total with 7 wickets in hand. The final match between the Men in Maroon and England was one to remember. Carlos Braithwaite scored 24 runs off the final over by Ben Stokes to hand the West Indies a surprising victory, making them the only team in T20 World Cup history to win the tournament twice.

Play fantasy cricket on Howzat

With the 2021 edition of the T20 World Cup upon us, be ready to beat cricket lovers from across the country on Howzat and win huge amounts of real money in the form of cash prizes. All you need to do is go for a fantasy app download on your mobile.

Start playing fantasy cricket matches to test and sharpen your cricket skills and then join cash fantasy contests to win big cash prizes. Join the Indian T20 League Final between Chennai and Kolkata on Howzat and enjoy exciting cricket action. Happy gaming!

© Copyright 2019 Howzat by Junglee Games