T20 World Cup Winners List 2007-2022

T20 World Cup Winners List 2007-2022

On 13 Nov 2022, England became the champions of T20 World Cup 2022. Team England beat Pakistan in the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground by 5 wickets. Sam Curran is the Player of the Match for his spell of 3/12.

The Men’s T20 World Cup was held in 2007 in South Africa for the first time. India won the inaugural edition, beating Pakistan by 5 runs in a blockbuster final. Since then, Pakistan, England, Sri Lanka, West Indies, and Australia have won the prestigious T20 World Cup trophy.

T20 World Cup Winners List From 2007 to 2022

With the T20 World Cup 20 finished on 13th November 2022, the excitement will start building up for the 2024 edition, players and cricket fans alike. Let’s take a look at all the previous T20 world cup winners list from 2007 to 2022 year wise.


Winner Team

Runner Up

Margin Won by

Team Captain 

Player of the Tournament


2007IndiaPakistan5 runsMS DhoniShahid AfridiSouth Africa
2009PakistanSri Lanka8 wicketsYounis KhanTillakaratne DilshanEngland
2010EnglandAustralia7 wicketsPaul CollingwoodKevin PietersenWest Indies
2012West IndiesSri Lanka36 runsDaren SammyShane WatsonSri Lanka
2014Sri LankaIndia6 wicketsLasith MalingaVirat KohliBangladesh
2016West IndiesEngland4 wicketsDaren SammyVirat KohliIndia
2021AustraliaNew Zealand8 wicketsAaron FinchDavid WarnerOman & UAE
2022EnglandPakistan5 wicketsJos ButtlerSam CurranAustralia

Also read: Most Runs in T20 World Cup History

T20 World Cup Champions List Over the Years

T20 World Cup 2007 Winner: India 

The India cricket team were the first ones ever to win the T20 World Cup, which was held in South Africa. Under the captaincy of MS Dhoni, India defeated arch-rivals Pakistan in a nerve-wracking final by just 5 runs. The tournament is most remembered for Yuvraj Singh’s 6 sixes in an over in the match against England.

T20 World Cup 2009 Winner: Pakistan

After losing narrowly to India in the 2007 T20 World Cup final, Pakistan emerged as winners of the 2009 T20 World Cup held in England. Despite starting off with a loss, Pakistan were the most dominant team in the entire tournament. They defeated Sri Lanka in the final, with Shahid Afridi putting up a Man of the Match-worthy performance.

T20 World Cup 2010 Winner: England

West Indies hosted the 2010 T20 World Cup. England lost their first match to hosts West Indies, after which they defeated Pakistan, New Zealand, South Africa, and Sri Lanka. In the final, England beat their Ashes rivals Australia to take home their first-ever T20 World Cup trophy. 

T20 World Cup 2012 Winner: West Indies

The 2012 T20 World Cup was played in Sri Lanka for the first time. West Indies became the 4th winner of the T20 World Cup trophy, thanks to some of the biggest power-hitters to have ever graced the game. They beat Sri Lanka, who were playing their second T20 World Cup final, by 36 runs.

T20 World Cup 2014 Winner: Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka won their first-ever T20 World Cup in 2014, hosted by Bangladesh. After losing two previous finals, they defeated pre-tournament favorites India in the final. The islanders lost just one match in the entire tournament, against England, during the group stage.

Also read: Most Fifties (50s) in T20 World Cup History

T20 World Cup 2016 Winner: West Indies

The 2016 T20 World Cup, hosted by India, will always be remembered for the Carlos Brathwaite show. West Indies became the only team in T20 World Cup history to win the tournament twice, as they defeated England by 4 wickets in the final. Braithwaite scored 24 runs off the final over by Ben Stokes to hand West Indies the victory.

T20 World Cup 2021 Winner: Australia

UAE and Oman hosted the T20 World Cup 2021, five years after the last edition in 2016. 12 teams were divided into two groups for the group stage. Australia, runners up of the 2010 T20 World Cup, beat their neighboring rivals New Zealand in the final by 8 wickets to win their maiden T20 World Cup title.

Who has won the T20 World Cup most times?

West Indies and England team they both have won the T20 World Cup twice. India won the inaugural edition in 2007. Sri Lanka, winners of the 2014 T20 World Cup, are the only team to lose multiple T20 World Cup finals (2009 and 2012). 

The Australia cricket team, who have 5 ODI Cricket World Cup trophies, won the T20 World Cup trophy in 2021. Pakistan won the trophy once 2009. Let's take a look at the country-wise T20 World Cup winners list from 2007 to 2022.

T20 World Cup Winners List 2007 - 2022: Country-wise

TeamNo. of Times WinnerYears
West Indies22012, 2016
England22010, 2022 
Sri Lanka12014


Who is the winner of T20 world cup 2022?

England is the winner of t20 world cup 2022. Team England beat Pakistan in the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground by 5 wickets.

Who won the first T20 World Cup?

India was the first team to win the T20 World Cup in 2007. They beat arch-rivals Pakistan in a thrilling final by 5 wickets at Johannesburg.

How many teams have won the T20 World Cup?

Six different teams – India,  Pakistan, England, West Indies, Sri Lanka and Australia – have won the T20 World Cup so far.


With the 2022 T20 World Cup almost upon us, be ready to beat fellow cricket lovers in fantasy cricket. Just download the Howzat fantasy app on your mobile phone and start playing. Happy gaming!!!

Win cash worth ₹3000* as Welcome Bonus