Longest Six in Cricket History

Hitting exceptional sixes one after the other is not every cricketer's cup of tea. We all remember MS Dhoni’s last six in the World Cup 2011 and the legendary 6 sixes in one over in 2007 T20 World Cup by Yuvraj Singh. Both these players added themselves to the league of hitting the longest six in cricket history. South Africa's Albie Morkel holds the record for hitting longest six in IPL, at 125 m six in 2008.

Reading about who has hit the biggest six is not enough. Pick up your phone and download fantasy cricket app to make your fantasy team on Howzat and join the exciting world of fantasy cricket!

Top 10 Longest Sixes in Cricket History

Shahid Afridi holds the record of hitting the longest six in cricket history. He hit a massive 153m six against South Africa's Ryan McLaren in 2013. The following list showcases some of the best international cricketers who are known for hitting the biggest six in cricket history. 


Player Name

Distance (in meters)




1Shahid Afridi153 mPakistanSouth Africa2013
2Brett Lee143 mAustraliaWest Indies2005
3Martin Guptill127 mNew ZealandSouth Africa2012
4Liam Livingstone122 mEnglandPakistan2021
5Corey Anderson122 mNew ZealandIndia2014
6Mark Waugh120 mAustraliaNew Zealand1997
7Yuvraj Singh119 mIndiaAustralia2007
8MS Dhoni118 mIndiaNew Zealand2009
9Shahid Afridi118 mPakistanAustralia2005
10Chris Gayle116 mWest IndiesIndia2010

1. Shahid Afridi | 153 meters vs. South Africa, 2013

The longest six in cricket history was smashed by former cricketer and captain of Pakistan, Shahid Afridi. As per official records, he hit 153 meters six making it the biggest six ever seen in the cricket world. This 153m smash was made when he played against Ryan Mclaren (A south Africa cricket player) at Johannesburg in 2013.

2. Brett Lee | 130 meters long against West Indies, 2005

Brett Lee, one of the best fastest bowlers in the world, is famous for his bowling abilities. But he is known for hitting the second biggest six in cricket history. In the year 2005, he smashed a 143-meter six against the West Indies. The ball literally fell into the practice nets behind the stadium, leaving Lee himself awestruck with the shot he hit.

Also read: Longest Sixes in IPL History

3. Martin Guptill | 127 meters long against South Africa, 2012

New Zealand’s Martin Guptill is surely someone who fits the list of longest six in cricket history 2022. Guptill managed to hit a 127-meter six in a T20I vs. Lonwabo Tsotsobe of South Africa. He hit the ball over the mid-wicket boundary so hard that it hit the roof of the stadium before it came down.

4. Liam Livingstone | 122 meters long against Pakistan, 2021

England’s Liam Livingstone is a power-hitter and is known for hitting his immense sixes on the cricket field. He is famous for his spectacular hit, a 122-meter six against Haris Rauf during England vs. Pakistan 2nd T20I at Headingley 2021. This hit has been recognized as one of the biggest six in cricket history in international cricket.

5. Corey Anderson | 122 meters long against India, 2014

New Zealand’s Corey Anderson was famous for hitting massive sixes during his time in international cricket. During the first ODI against India in 2014, Anderson hit Mohd Shami for a 122-meter six, which was marked to be one of the biggest sixes in cricket history. It proved that he is indeed one of the hardest-hitters of the cricket ball in the world. 

Also read: Who is the Fastest Bowler in World?

6. Mark Waugh | 120 meters long against New Zealand, 1997

Mark Waugh, one of the most underrated cricketers in the Australia team, is not known for big hits. During New Zealand’s tour of Australia in 1997, Mark hit Daniel Vettori for a 120-meter six, considered one of the longest and highest six in cricket. For a player more known for his timing and placement hitting, it was an extraordinary event. 

7. Yuvraj Singh | 119 meters long against Australia, 2007

Yuvraj Singh, known as Yuvi by the cricket fans, is one of the most gifted stroke-masters in the cricket fraternity. An example of this could clearly be witnessed in the year 2007 when he got recognized in the list of longest six in cricket history. Yuvraj hit Brett Lee for a 119-meter-long six during the India vs. Australia semi final of the 2007 T20 World Cup.

8. MS Dhoni | 118 meters long against New Zealand, 2009

The list of the longest six in cricket 2022 would always be incomplete without adding the name of MS Dhoni. He is known to keep his calm under pressure and is known to be one of the best match finishers ODI cricket has ever seen. During the India vs. New Zealand 3rd ODI in Auckland 2009, MS Dhoni smashed a 118-meter six that landed way back in the stands.

Also read: Largest Cricket Stadium in the World

9. Chris Gayle | 116 meters long against India, 2010

Chris Gayle needs no introduction. The Universe Boss is a destructive batter and holds world records for hitting the most sixes (553). In the 2010 T20 World Cup West Indies vs. India match, Chris Gayle crushed Yusaf Pathan for a 116-meter six that went straight out of the Kensington Oval stadium.


Which Indian player has hit the longest six in cricket history?

Yuvraj Singh hit the longest six 119 meters by an Indian player against Australia’s Brett Lee.

Who is Sixer King in cricket history?

The title of "Sixer King" in cricket history goes to Rohit Sharma. He currently holds the record for the most sixes hit across all formats of international cricket, with a whopping 597 sixes.

Who has hit the longest six in IPL?

South Africa's Albie Morkel holds the record for hitting longest six in IPL. He hit a gigantic 125 meters six during the first season of IPL in 2008.

Who has hit the longest six in T20 international cricket?

Martin Guptill’s 127-meter six against South Africa is the longest six hit in T20 international cricket.

Who has hit the longest six in cricket history 173 meters?

Aiden Blizzard, hit a 130 meter long six but it is rumoured to be the longest six in cricket history 173 meters, playing for Victoria in the Australia T20 League.

Win cash worth ₹3000* as Welcome Bonus