Post image

Howzat Legends League 2022 – Teams and Match Schedule

The inaugural edition of the Legends League Cricket (LLC) is all set to begin from 20th January 2022. The official schedule of the tournament has been released. All the matches are going to be played at the Al Amerat Cricket Stadium in Muscat, Oman.

The tournament is going to have two rounds and a final. There are also going to be three rest days between the games. Each of the two rounds will consist of three games. One important thing to be noted is that all matches are scheduled to start at 8 PM IST.

Legends Cricket League 2022 Schedule

The first game will see Indian Maharajas clashing with Asia Lions. The third team World Giants, which consists of players from the rest of the world, will take on Asia Lions the next day. Thus, all these three teams will face each other twice in the tournament. The best two teams will clash in the Grand Finale on 29th January 2022.

Legends League 2022 Teams

India Maharajas Team

Former explosive Indian batter Virender Sehwag who has led the Team Delhi and Team Punjab in Indian T20 League previously has been appointed as the captain of the India Maharajas Team. Along with Sehwag, Mohd. Kaif has been appointed as the vice-captain of the team. India Maharajas has also appointed former Australian Team and Kolkata Team coach John Buchanan as the coach of the team.

Virender Sehwag (C), Mohammed Kaif (VC), Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Sanjay Bangar, RP Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Subramanium Badrinath, Naman Ojha, Manpreet Gony, Nayan Mongia, Hemang Badani, Venugopal Rao, Sanjay Bangar, Stuart Binny 

Asia Lions Team

Former Pakistan batter and skipper Misbah Ul Haq will be leading the Asia Lions team in Legends League Cricket 2022. The team has also appointed Tillakaratne Dilshan as the vice-captain. 1996 ICC World Cup winning captain Arjuna Ranatunga has been appointed as coach of Asia Lions Team.

Misbah ul Haq (C) (PAK), Tillakaratne Dilshan (VC) (SL), Shoaib Akhtar (PAK), Shahid Afridi (PAK), Mohammad Hafeez (PAK), Kamran Akmal (PAK), Mohammad Yousuf (PAK), Azhar Mahmood (PAK), Umar Gul (PAK), Shoaib Malik (PAK), Sanath Jayasuriya (SL), Muttiah Muralitharan (SL), Chaminda Vaas (SL), Romesh Kaluwitharana (SL), Upul Tharanga (SL), Ajantha Mendis (SL), Dilhara Fernando (SL), Habibul Bashar (BAN), Asghar Afghan (AFG)

World Giants Team

Former West Indies 2-time T20 World Cup winning skipper Darren Sammy will be leading the World Giants team. Sammy has previously been captain of the St. Lucia Team in the Caribbean T20 League. Former South African player Jonty Rhodes will be the Mentor for the World Giants Team.

Daren Sammy (C) (WI), Brad Haddin (AUS), Brett Lee (AUS), Jonty Rhodes (SA), Herschelle Gibbs (SA), Albie Morkel (SA), Morne Morkel (SA), Imran Tahir (SA), , Owais Shah (ENG), Kevin Pietersen (ENG), Monty Panesar (ENG), Daniel Vettori (NZ), Corey Anderson (NZ), Kevin O'Brien (IRE), Brendan Taylor (ZIM)

Bollywood superstar Amitabh Bachchan will be the brand ambassador of this league. Ravi Shastri, former head coach of the Indian team, is appointed as the commissioner of the Legends League Cricket. He said, “It feels great to remain connected with cricket, especially with the Legends of the game. These stalwarts have nothing new to prove but they have their reputation on the line and it will be interesting to see how they do justice to it.”

Play fantasy cricket on Howzat

Howzat, the fantasy sports platform, will also be hosting all the matches of the Legends League Cricket on its fantasy app. You can get access to the latest cricket match predictions and trending cricket news on the Howzat blog. Download the cricket fantasy app now, make your dream team & start winning every day!