IPL Emerging Player Award

IPL Emerging Player Award 2023

A title-winning team is usually a perfect combination of young and experienced players contributing well together to produce a winning performance in each match. Every year, the "IPL Emerging Player Award" is given to a young player who has been an outstanding performer in the season. Rajasthan's Yashasvi Jaiswal won the Emerging Player Award in IPL 2023.

'Where Talent Meets Opportunity' is the mantra of the Indian Premier League. Over the last 16 years, the league has produced great young talent for Indian cricket and other international teams. Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Shubman Gill, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Ravindra Jadeja have all come through consistent performances in the Indian T20 League.

IPL Emerging Player Award 2023 Criteria

This award is given to the player who performed consistently during the season and has the potential to become a star in international cricket. To be eligible for the Emerging Player Award, a player must meet all four of the following criteria:

  • He should have been born on or after 1 April 1997.
  • He should have played 5 or fewer Test matches or less than 20 ODIs.
  • He should have played only 25 or fewer IPL matches (at the start of the season).
  • He should not have won the Emerging Player Award before.

The winner is decided by combining a public vote on the IPL official website with the choice of television commentators.

Also read: IPL Points Table 2023

IPL Emerging Player Award Winners List From 2008 to 2023

It was called the "Best Under-19 Player" award in 2008, the "Best Under-23 Player" award in 2009, and in 2010, it was called "Under-23 Success of the Tournament.” In the 2011 and 2012 seasons, the award was known as "Rising Star of the Year"; in 2013, it was called "Best Young Player of the Season." Since 2014, it has been named the Emerging Player of the Year 

Bangladesh pacer Mustafizur Rahman is the only overseas player to win the Emerging Player Award, in the 2016 season playing for Hyderabad.

2023Yashasvi JaiswalRajasthan
2022Umran MalikHyderabad
2021Ruturaj GaikwadChennai
2020Devdutt PadikkalBangalore
2019Shubman GillKolkata
2018Rishabh PantDelhi
2017Basil ThampiGujarat
2016Mustafizur RahmanHyderabad
2015Shreyas IyerDelhi
2014Axar PatelPunjab
2013Sanju SamsonRajasthan
2012Mandeep SinghPunjab
2011Iqbal AbdullaKolkata
2010Saurabh TiwaryMumbai
2009Rohit SharmaDeccan
2008Shreevats GoswamiBangalore

Also read: Purple Cap in IPL 2023


What is the meaning of an emerging player in the IPL?

A player who is under 25 years and has not played much international cricket is categorized as an emerging player in the IPL. The award is given to the best emerging player based on the performance in an IPL season. 

Who is eligible to be an emerging player in the IPL?

For IPL 2023, a player must be born on or after 1 April 1997, must have played less than 5 Tests and less than 20 ODIs, and less than 25 IPL matches (start of the season), and must not have won the award in the past. 

Who won the Emerging Player Award in IPL 2023?

Rajasthan’s Yashasvi Jaiswal won the Emerging Player Award in IPL 2023. He scored 625 runs in 14 matches at a strike rate of 163.61.

Which team’s players have won the IPL Emerging Player Award the most times?

Players from Bangalore, Delhi, Kolkata, Punjab, Rajasthan and Hyderabad teams have won the IPL Emerging Player Award two times each. 

Who won the Emerging Player Award in 2022?

Hyderabad’s Umran Malik won the Emerging Player Award in IPL 2022. He took 22 wickets in 14 matches at an average of 20.18 in the season.

What is the prize amount for the IPL Emerging Player Award?

The prize amount for the Emerging Player Award in IPL is ₹10 lakhs.


Junglee Games India Private Limited ("Junglee") is neither associated with, affiliated to, nor has any connection, whatsoever, with any third-party sporting event and leagues. Unless engaged by way of proper Agreement for endorsement etc., Junglee also disclaims any association, affiliation, or connection, whatsoever, with the Teams or Players, who are participating in the said third-party Sporting events or Leagues.

Win cash worth ₹3000* as Welcome Bonus