Most Sixes in the IPL

Chris Gayle holds the record for hitting the most sixes in IPL history. Gayle has hit 357 sixes in 142 matches and has scored 4965 runs. India's skipper Rohit Sharma is a distant second with 280 sixes.

Most Sixes Hit in IPL 2024

  1. Abhishek Sharma (SRH) - 42 sixes
  2. Virat Kohli (RCB) - 38 sixes
  3. Heinrich Klaasen (SRH) - 38 sixes
  4. Nicholas Pooran (LSG) - 36 sixes
  5. Sunil Narine (KKR) - 33 sixes

Players with Most Sixes in IPL History

Among the top six hitters, Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Kieron Pollard, Suresh Raina and Shane Watson have retired from Indian Premier League cricket but the others are still active. Here's a list of the top 15 players with most sixes in IPL history:

RankPlayerSixes (6s)Matches
1Chris Gayle357142
2Rohit Sharma280257
3Virat Kohli272252
4MS Dhoni252264
5AB de Villiers251184
6David Warner236184
7Kieron Pollard223189
8Andre Russell209127
9Sanju Samson206168
10Suresh Raina203205
11Shane Watson190145
12KL Rahul187132
13Robin Uthappa182205
14Ambati Rayudu173204
15Faf du Plessis166145

Chris Gayle: 357 Sixes in 142 Matches

Chris Gayle, one of the strongest and cleanest hitters of the ball, has hit the most sixes in the Indian T20 League. He hit a staggering 357 sixes in 142 matches played in the league. Gayle scored 4965 runs at a strike rate of 148.96 with the help of 31 half centuries and 6 centuries. 59 sixes in the 2012 season is his best single-season six record in the Indian T20 League.

Also read: Longest Sixes in IPL From 2008-2024

Rohit Sharma: 280 sixes in 257 Matches

Mumbai captain Rohit Sharma is second on the list and has hit the most sixes (280) among Indian players in the Indian T20 League. He has been playing the league since its very first season and has scored 6628 runs at a strike rate of 131.14 and hit 599 fours. Rohit has led the Mumbai team to 5 title wins, joint most by any captain in the tournament’s history.

Virat Kohli: 272 Sixes in 252 Matches

Virat Kohli is the third name on the list of batsmen with the most sixes in the Indian T20 League. The former Bangalore skipper has hit 272 sixes in 252 matches since the league's inaugural edition. He is the highest run scorer in IPL history (8004 runs at a strike rate of 131.97 and has hit 705 fours (second highest). Kohli has played for the Bangalore team only.

Also read: IPL Orange Cap Winners List

MS Dhoni: 252 Sixes in 264 Matches

Chennai talisman and captain MS Dhoni is fifth on the list, with 252 sixes in 264 matches. One of the game's legends, Dhoni has scored 5243 runs at a strike rate of 137.53 and has hit 363 fours also. He led the Chennai team from the first season in 2008 till 2023 and has won the Indian T20 League trophy five times (2010, 2011, 2018, 2021 and 2023).

AB de Villiers: 251 Sixes in 184 Matches

AB de Villiers occupies the fourth spot on the list of the most sixes hit in the Indian T20 League. He hit 251 sixes in the league, 106 behind the leader Chris Gayle. AB de Villiers made 5162 runs at a strike rate of 151.68 with 3 hundreds and 40 fifties. He played for Bangalore and Delhi and hit 413 fours in his Indian T20 League career.

Most Sixes in IPL by a Team

Mumbai Indians is the first among the teams with most sixes in IPL, with 1681 sixes. Bangalore is the only other team with more than 1600 sixes in IPL. Lucknow Super Giants has the highest ratio of 6s per match.

TeamSixesMatches6s Per Match
Mumbai Indians16812616.44
Royal Challengers Bangalore16492566.44
Punjab Kings15132466.15
Chennai Super Kings15082396.30
Kolkata Knight Riders14922525.92
Delhi Capitals13482525.34
Rajasthan Royals12352225.56
Sunrisers Hyderabad10381825.71
Lucknow Super Giants332447.54
Gujarat Titans270456.00


Who has hit most sixes in IPL?

Chris Gayle holds the record for the most sixes in IPL history with a whopping 357 sixes! He's established himself as the true sixer-king of the IPL tournaments.

Which team has hit the most sixes in IPL?

Mumbai became the first team to hit 1600 sixes in IPL history. MI has hit 1681 sixes in 261 matches. RCB is second with 1649 sixes in 256 games.

What is the record for the most sixes in one IPL match?

KKR and PBKS hit a record 42 sixes at Kolkata, 2024, the most in one match in IPL history. 

Who has hit most sixes in one over in IPL?

Ravindra Jadeja, Chris Gayle, Rinku Singh and Rahul Tewatia have hit a maximum of 5 sixes in one over in IPL. Chris Gayle, Pat Cummins, Virat Kohli and Andre Russell have hit 4 sixes in one IPL over.

Who has hit the most sixes in the one innings in IPL?

Chris Gayle has hit the most sixes in one IPL innings. He hit a record 17 sixes against Pune Warriors India at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru on 23 April 2013.


Junglee Games India Private Limited ("Junglee") is neither associated with, nor has any connection whatsoever with any third-party sporting event and leagues. Unless engaged by way of proper Agreement for endorsement etc, Junglee also disclaims any association, affiliation, or connection whatsoever with the teams or players who are participating in the said third-party sporting events or Leagues.

Win cash worth ₹3000* as Welcome Bonus