Most Wickets in Indian T20 League

India's Yuzvendra Chahal is the highest wicket taker in IPL history. Chahal becomes the first player to take 200 IPL wickets. Chahal has taken 204 wickets in 158 matches with best figures of 5/40. Piyush Chawla is the second highest wicket-taker, with 192 wickets in 190 matches.

The opening game of the 17th season of the Indian Premier League is on 22nd Mar 2024 between Chennai and Bangalore at the MA. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai.

The IPL has witnessed some phenomenal bowling talents over the last 17 years. Many Indian and international bowlers have made their mark in the league with the ball in hand. Players like Bravo, Malinga, Sunil Narine, Chahal have been prolific. So, who are the top players with the most wickets in IPL history?

Top 15 List of Highest Wicket Takers in IPL 

Here is the list of the all-time top 15 most wicket-takers in the history of the IPL tournaments.

PlayerTeamWicketsMatchesBest BowlingBowling Average4W5W
Yuzvendra ChahalRR2041585/4022.1861
Piyush ChawlaMI1921924/1726.6020
Dwayne BravoCSK1831614/2223.8220
Bhuvneshwar KumarSRH1811725/1926.5522
Sunil NarineKKR1781745/1925.3671
Ravichandran AshwinRR1782094/3429.8110
Amit MishraLSG1741625/1723.8241
Lasith MalingaMI1701225/1319.8061
Jasprit BumrahMI1651335/1022.5122
Ravindra JadejaCSK1602405/1630.4031
Harbhajan SinghKKR1501635/1826.8711
Rashid KhanGT1491214/2421.8620
Umesh YadavGT1441484/2329.9730
Sandeep SharmaRR1341245/1827.1321
Harshal PatelPBKS1331055/2723.3021

1) Yuzvendra Chahal (Rajasthan): 204 wickets in 158 Matches

Last season’s Purple Cap winner Yuzvendra Chahal has 204 wickets to his name in the Indian T20 League. His bowling average of 22.18 and economy rate of 7.81 are impressive numbers in T20 cricket. The former Bangalore bowler took his first 5-wicket haul during the last year’s edition as Rajasthan beat Kolkata in a thrilling match.

2) Piyush Chawla (Mumbai): 192 wickets in 192 Matches

Piyush Chawla has picked up 192 wickets in the biggest T20 league in the world. Chawla has played for Punjab, Kolkata, Chennai and Mumbai but got most success with Team Kolkata. His best bowling performance is 4/17. He will be appearing for Mumbai team in the 2024 season and is their most experienced spinner.

3) Dwayne Bravo (Chennai): 183 wickets in 161 Matches

West Indian Dwayne Bravo, one of the most entertaining cricketers on a cricket field, is the third-highest wicket taker in the league. He has taken 183 wickets at an average of 23.82 and his best figures of 4/22 came against Punjab in 2016. Bravo’s main strength was his accurate yorkers and slower deliveries. He has played 10 seasons for Chennai, 3 for Mumbai and 2 for Gujarat.

4) Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Hyderabad): 181 wickets in 172 Matches

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is fourth on the list of highest wicket takers in the IPL. He has played majority of his IPL career with the Hyderabad team and also helped them to the IPL trophy in 2016. Bhuvi’s seam variations has troubled many batters over the years and helped him take 181 wickets at an average of 26.55

5) Sunil Narine (Kolkata): 178 wickets in 174 Matches

One of the legends of the league, West Indies Sunil Narine has 178 wickets to his name in the league. Over the years, he has played for only Kolkata. He has an economy rate of 6.72 (the lowest in the league) and taken one 5-wicket haul in the IPL. 

Also read: IPL Purple Cap Winners From 2008 to 2024


Who is the best wicket taker in the IPL?

Yuzvendra Chahal has taken the most wickets in the IPL. He has taken 204 wickets in 158 matches at an average of 22.18 with best figures of 5/40. He plays for Team Rajasthan for the 2024 season.

Who has the most hat tricks in the IPL?

Amit Mishra has taken the most hat-tricks (3) in IPL. His first hat-trick came for Delhi against Deccan in 2008. Second was for Deccan against Punjab in 2011 and third was for Hyderabad against Pune in 2013.

Who has taken most wickets in one IPL season?

Dwayne Bravo and Harshal Patel have taken the most wickets in one IPL season. Bravo took 32 wickets in 2013 and Patel took the same in 2021. The next best is Kagiso Rabada with 30 wickets in the 2020 season.

Who is the No. 1 bowler in the IPL?

Lasith Malinga is the No. 1 bowler in the IPL. He has taken 170 wickets in 122 matches at a bowling average of 19.80. Malinga has taken six 4-wicket hauls and one 5-wicket haul. 


Junglee Games India Private Limited ("Junglee") is neither associated with, affiliated to, nor has any connection, whatsoever, with any third-party sporting event and leagues. Unless engaged by way of proper Agreement for endorsement etc., Junglee also disclaims any association, affiliation, or connection, whatsoever, with the Teams or Players, who are participating in the said third-party Sporting events or Leagues.

Win cash worth ₹3000* as Welcome Bonus