• November


  • 294
  • 0
India Announces 16-man Squad for New Zealand T20Is

India Announces 16-man Squad for New Zealand T20Is

Team India announced their 16-man squad for the 3-match T20I series against New Zealand, which starts on 17th November 2021. The squad for the two subsequent Tests, at Kanpur (25th-29th November) and Mumbai (3rd-7th December), will be announced on a later date.

Rohit Sharma is the new T20I captain for India following Virat Kohli’s stepping down from the captaincy in the shortest format. KL Rahul has been named vice captain for the series. The series will also mark the start of Rahul Dravid’s tenure as India’s head coach after Ravi Shastri’s term ended after the recent T20 World Cup.

Several senior players including Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja, and Mohammed Shami have been rested for the T20I series. Hardik Pandya has been dropped from the squad, with Shreyas Iyer getting his place back into the team.

Some exciting inclusions see Team Chennai’s opener Ruturaj Gaikwad, Kolkata’s promising all-rounder Venkatesh Iyer, 2021 Purple Cap winner Harshal Patel and Delhi’s Avesh Khan in the team. 

India have also called back leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal, with spin twins Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy missing out. The likes of Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, and Deepak Chahar keep their places, while Mohammed Siraj returns in the pace department in place of Shardul Thakur.

Play fantasy cricket on Howzat

India’s T20I Squad 

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ishan Kishan (WK), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj

India vs New Zealand Schedule 2021

  • 1st T20I – 17th November, Jaipur
  • 2nd T20I – 19th November, Ranchi
  • 3rd T20I – 21st November, Kolkata

Howzat will be hosting all the upcoming cricket matches of India from the tour of New Zealand. You can get access to the latest match predictions and trending cricket news on the Howzat blog. Download the app now, make your fantasy league team & start winning every day!

© Copyright 2019 Howzat by Junglee Games